Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

INGENIUM-NSERC STEAM Horizon Awards

Instructions for completing an application

General information

Important: applications must be submitted electronically using the This link will take you to another Web site Secure Submissions for the INGENIUM-NSERC STEAM Horizon Awards. Documents must be submitted in Portable Document Format (PDF).

Read the award description in the Program Guide for Students and Fellows before you complete the application.

Application deadline

Applicants must apply directly to NSERC before 8:00 p.m. (ET) on January 15.
If you are contacting your current and/or former institutions to obtain transcripts and the letters of support, remember that it may take time for them to provide you with the information requested. It is advisable to plan ahead and have your application completed before the deadline. Late and handwritten applications will not be accepted.

Presentation standards

You are responsible for assembling the required documentation, including the letters of support, and submitting a complete application that conforms to the presentation standards established by NSERC.

With the exception of personal contact information, NSERC will not accept any changes or updates to your application once it has been submitted. Personal contact information may be updated by sending an email to schol@nserc-crsng.gc.ca.

Personal information

The collection, use and disclosure of personal information provided to NSERC are outlined in the following policy statements:

The information you provide in your application is collected under the authority of the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council Act. NSERC is subject to the This link will take you to another Web site Access to Information Act and the This link will take you to another Web site Privacy Act. The information you provide is stored in a series of NSERC data banks described in This link will take you to another Web site Information about programs and information holdings.

Help

If you are experiencing technical difficulties or have questions about award information, contact the staff responsible for the INGENIUM-NSERC STEAM Horizon Awards.

Completing the application

Complete applications must be uploaded to the This link will take you to another Web site Secure Submissions for the INGENIUM-NSERC STEAM Horizon Awards. Applicants and references must complete the necessary forms; extra pages and text outside of the given space will not be reviewed.

Address

If your address changes after submitting your application, inform NSERC by sending an email to schol@nserc-crsng.gc.ca.

Personal data

Applicants to the INGENIUM-NSERC STEAM Horizon Awards must be between the ages of 16 and 18 and must also be Canadian citizens or permanent residents of Canada by the application deadline. NSERC asks applicants to provide data on their gender and on whether they are disabled or belong to a visible minority group and/or are Indigenous, on a purely voluntary basis. This data is not seen or used by the selection committee members in NSERC’s review process or by the applicant’s references in NSERC’s review processes. The information may be used to increase funding equity among applicants. NSERC will ask award recipients for proof of age, citizenship or residency status, and Indigenous status (if applicable) upon acceptance of an award.

Academic background

Include the name of your current institution (i.e. high school) with your start and end dates. If you are still registered, leave the end date blank.

Proposed location

Specify one proposed location of tenure. You may take up the award at any eligible Canadian university, college or CÉGEP. You will be permitted to attend a different location than indicated if you change your mind, provided the new institution is eligible. This data is not seen or used by the selection committee members.  

Achievements

Describe the achievement(s) for which you were recognized within and beyond academia. Achievements may be in the form of scholarships, awards, distinctions, projects you have managed, participation in science promotion, community outreach and volunteer work. Write a detailed description in paragraph form.

Ambassador potential

Describe what you’ve accomplished so far as an ambassador for STEAM fields and the actions you plan to take in the next two years to share your passion for STEAM with younger generations. Write a detailed description in paragraph form.  

Problem solving with innovative ideas in STEAM

Describe how you’ve tackled a problem within your community using innovative ideas in the STEAM fields and the impact it had on your community. This can be something that you have previously done or are currently doing. Write a detailed description in paragraph form.

Transcripts

Scan and upload a copy of your most recent transcript(s). This must include your academic record over the previous year of study. Transcripts must be scanned (black and white recommended) and saved as a single PDF file. Transcript text orientation should be upright (if possible) and must be readable on a computer monitor without any adjustment by the viewer.

Letters of support

Each application submitted to NSERC must be accompanied by two letters of support.
The letters must be completed by persons capable of making an informed assessment. Both letters should be from a person very familiar with your achievements, your potential as an ambassador and your innovation/problem solving capabilities. This could include a teacher, co-op supervisor, work supervisor, etc.

NSERC strongly encourages the use of inclusive language (for example, “the applicant” or “they” instead of “he” or “she”). Any discussions should be free from words or sentences that reflect prejudiced, stereotyped or discriminatory language of particular people, groups or their institution. Use of inclusive language has been shown to decrease unconscious bias during the review process. For further information on unconscious bias, consult the Department for Women and Gender Equality’s This link will take you to another Web site Unconscious bias — Additional resources webpage (formerly Status of Women Canada).

What you should do:

  • Contact your proposed references to ensure they are willing to complete the letter of support for you. Do not forget that two letters are required.
  • Provide them with information about the INGENIUM-NSERC STEAM Horizon Awards, these instructions and the Letter of Support form.
  • Inform them of the application deadline and ask them to submit their letters to you well before this date so that your complete application can be submitted by the deadline.
  • Your application will be rejected if you do not submit two letters of support.  

What the references should do:

References must complete the Letter of Support form and print, sign and return it to the applicant.

Video clip

Create a short video that illustrates your achievements and outreach capabilities and demonstrates your oral communication skills. A video made by a trained professional from a third party will not be reviewed.

Video criteria

  1. Submissions must not exceed 2 minutes in length for the video component and 99 megabytes (all electronic files, including audio/video).
  2. Submissions must be submitted via the Secure Submissions for the INGENIUM-NSERC STEAM Horizon Awards. Acceptable formats include AVI (.avi), MOV (.mov) and MPEG (.mp1, .mp2, .mp3, .mp4, .mpeg, .mpg and mpeg4).
  3. Links to websites, public or private, will not be accepted. A submission must be respectful and courteous and be in English or French or both.
  4. NSERC will not accept submissions that are offensive to an individual or an organization, or those that are rude in tone or abusive. NSERC reserves the right to refuse, edit or remove any of the following:
    • racist, hateful, sexist, homophobic, slanderous, insulting or life-threatening content;
    • serious, unproven, unsupported or inaccurate accusations against individuals or organizations;
    • abusive, aggressive, coarse, explicit, vulgar, violent, obscene or pornographic content;
    • content that encourages or suggests illegal activity;
    • announcements, solicitations, advertisements or endorsements of any organizations or corporations;
    • attempts to defame or defraud any individual, group or agency; or
    • unintelligible or irrelevant content.

Signatures

Before you, as an applicant, can submit your application to NSERC, you must read and agree to the Terms and Conditions of Applying form. It is your responsibility to retain a copy of the agreed terms and conditions for your records.

If you are below the age of majority in your province or territory, your parent or guardian must co-sign your application.

The age of majority is 18 in six provinces: Alberta, Manitoba, Ontario, Prince Edward Island, Quebec and Saskatchewan.

The age of majority is 19 in four provinces and the three territories: British Columbia, New Brunswick, Newfoundland and Labrador, Northwest Territories, Nova Scotia, Nunavut and Yukon.

List for a complete application

Use the following list to make sure your application is complete.

  • Application form
  • Letters of support (2)
  • Transcripts
  • Terms and Conditions of Applying form
  • Video clip

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Prix Horizon STIAM Ingenium CRSNG

Instructions relatives à la présentation des demandes

Renseignements généraux

Important : Les demandes doivent être présentées par voie électronique au moyen du site de This link will take you to another Web site présentation sécurisée des demandes de prix Horizon STIAM Ingenium-CRSNG. Le dossier de candidature doit être présenté en format PDF.

Avant de remplir le formulaire de demande, veuillez consulter la description du prix dans le Guide des programmes de bourses.

Date limite

Les candidats doivent présenter leur demande directement au CRSNG avant 20 h (HE) le 15 janvier. Si vous devez communiquer avec vos anciens établissements ou votre établissement actuel pour obtenir les relevés de notes et des lettres d’appui, rappelez-vous qu’il se pourrait qu’ils tardent à vous fournir les renseignements demandés. Il est préférable de s’y prendre à l’avance et de monter votre dossier de demande avant la date limite de présentation. Les demandes reçues après la date limite ou écrites à la main seront refusées.

Normes de présentation des demandes

Vous êtes responsables de réunir les documents requis, y compris les lettres d’appui. Vous devez présenter une demande complète qui respecte les normes de présentation établies par le CRSNG.

Le CRSNG n’acceptera aucune modification ou mise à jour à votre demande après que vous l’aurez présentée, sauf celles concernant les coordonnées personnelles. Pour ce faire, vous devez envoyer un courriel à bourses@nserc-crsng.gc.ca.

Renseignements personnels

La collecte, l’utilisation et la divulgation des renseignements personnels fournis au CRSNG sont décrites dans les énoncés de politiques suivants :

Les renseignements que vous fournissez dans votre demande sont recueillis en vertu de la Loi sur le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie. Le CRSNG est assujetti à la This link will take you to another Web site Loi sur l’accès à l’information et à la This link will take you to another Web site Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Les renseignements que vous fournissez sont conservés dans des banques de données décrites dans les This link will take you to another Web site Renseignements sur les programmes et les fonds de renseignements.

Aide

Si vous éprouvez des difficultés techniques ou si vous avez des questions au sujet des prix, communiquez avec le personnel chargé des prix Horizon STIAM Ingenium‑CRSNG.

Remplir la demande

Les demandes complètes doivent être présentées par voie électronique au moyen du site de This link will take you to another Web site présentation sécurisée des demandes de prix Horizon STIAM Ingenium-CRSNG. Les candidats et les répondants doivent remplir les formulaires; les pages en trop et le texte fourni en dehors de l’espace prévu ne seront pas évalués.

Adresse

Si votre adresse change après que vous avez présenté une demande, avisez le CRSNG en envoyant un courriel à bourses@nserc-crsng.gc.ca.

Données personnelles

Les candidats aux prix Horizon STIAM Ingenium‑CRSNG doivent être âgés de 16 à 18 ans et être citoyens canadiens ou résidents permanents au plus tard à la date limite de présentation des demandes. Le CRSNG demande aux candidats de fournir volontairement des données sur leur genre, leur situation de handicap ou leur appartenance à une minorité visible ou à une communauté autochtone. Ces données ne sont ni vues ni utilisées par les membres du comité de sélection dans le cadre du processus d’examen du CRSNG, ni par les répondants. Elles peuvent servir à améliorer l’équité du financement attribué aux candidats. Le CRSNG demandera aux candidats retenus de fournir une preuve d’âge, une preuve de citoyenneté ou de statut de résident et une preuve de statut d’Autochtone, le cas échéant, quand ils accepteront leur prix.

Formation scolaire

Indiquez le nom de votre établissement actuel (c.‑à‑d. école secondaire) et indiquez la date de début et la date de fin de vos études. Si vous n’avez pas terminé vos études, laissez en blanc l’espace relatif à la date de fin.

Établissement proposé

Indiquez un lieu de validité proposé. Vous pouvez détenir votre prix dans n’importe quel établissement canadien admissible (université, collège ou cégep). Vous pourrez fréquenter un autre établissement que celui indiqué, pour autant que le nouvel établissement soit admissible. Ces données ne sont ni vues ni utilisées par les membres du comité de sélection.

Réalisations

Décrivez les réalisations pour lesquelles vous avez obtenu une reconnaissance au sein et à l’extérieur du milieu scolaire. Voici des exemples de réalisation : bourses, prix, distinctions, projets que vous avez gérés, participation à des activités de promotion des sciences, activités de sensibilisation de la communauté et bénévolat. Présentez une description détaillée sous forme de paragraphes.

Potentiel de devenir ambassadeur

Décrivez ce que vous avez accompli jusqu’à maintenant à titre d’ambassadeur du domaine des STIAM et les mesures que vous comptez prendre au cours des deux prochaines années pour partager votre passion des STIAM avec les jeunes générations. Présentez une description détaillée sous forme de paragraphes.

Résolution de problèmes à l’aide d’idées novatrices dans les domaines des STIAM

Décrivez comment vous vous êtes attaqué à un problème dans votre communauté dans les domaines des STIAM à l’aide d’idées novatrices et les retombées sur celle-ci. Il peut s’agir d’une démarche terminée ou en cours. Présentez une description détaillée sous forme de paragraphes.

Relevés de notes

Numérisez et téléchargez une copie de vos derniers relevés de notes, qui doivent comprendre votre dossier scolaire de la dernière année d’études. Les relevés de notes doivent être numérisés (de préférence en noir et blanc) et enregistrés en un seul document PDF. Ils doivent être présentés selon l’orientation « portrait » (dans la mesure du possible) et être lisibles à l’écran d’un ordinateur sans que le lecteur ait d’ajustement à apporter.

Lettres d’appui

Deux lettres d’appui doivent être jointes à chaque demande présentée au CRSNG. Les lettres doivent être rédigées par des personnes en mesure d’effectuer une évaluation éclairée. Elles doivent être rédigées par des personnes qui connaissent bien vos réalisations, votre potentiel de devenir un ambassadeur et vos capacités d’innovation et de résolution de problèmes. Il pourrait s’agir notamment d’un enseignant, d’un superviseur de stage, d’un superviseur au travail, etc.

Le CRSNG encourage fortement l’emploi d’un langage inclusif (p. ex., employer des termes collectifs et favoriser le recours aux pronoms, termes et adjectifs épicènes). Les lettres ne doivent contenir aucune formulation ou expression qui véhicule des préjugés, des stéréotypes ou des propos discriminatoires envers des personnes, des groupes ou leur établissement.

Il a été démontré que l’emploi du langage inclusif permet de réduire les préjugés inconscients dans le processus d’évaluation. Pour plus de renseignements sur les préjugés inconscients, consultez la page Web This link will take you to another Web site Préjugés inconscients – Ressources supplémentaires du ministère des Femmes et de l’égalité des genres (auparavant Condition féminine Canada).

Ce que vous devriez faire :

  • Communiquez avec vos répondants proposés pour vous assurer qu’ils sont prêts à rédiger une lettre d’appui. N’oubliez pas que vous devez présenter deux lettres.
  • Donnez-leur les renseignements sur les prix Horizon STIAM Ingenium-CRSNG, les instructions connexes et le formulaire Lettre d’appui.
  • Donnez-leur la date limite de présentation des demandes et demandez-leur de vous remettre les lettres bien avant cette date de sorte que vous pourrez présenter une demande complète avant la date limite.
  • Votre demande sera rejetée si vous ne présentez pas deux lettres d’appui.

Ce que les répondants doivent faire :

Les répondants doivent remplir le formulaire Lettre d’appui, l’imprimer, le signer et le remettre au candidat.

Vidéo

Montez une courte vidéo illustrant vos réalisations et vos aptitudes pour la promotion des sciences et la communication orale. Les vidéos conçues par des vidéastes professionnels ne seront pas évaluées.

Critères d’admissibilité des vidéos

  • Le matériel ne doit pas dépasser les paramètres suivants : 2 minutes pour la vidéo; 99 mégaoctets pour tous les fichiers électroniques, incluant les fichiers audio et vidéo.
  • La vidéo doit être présentée sous forme de fichier AVI (.avi), MOV (.mov), MPEG (.mp1;.mp2;.mp3;.mp4;.mpeg;.mpg, mpeg4) au moyen du site de This link will take you to another Web site présentation sécurisée des demandes de prix Horizon STIAM Ingenium-CRSNG.
  • Les liens vers des sites Web publics ou privés ne seront pas acceptés. La vidéo doit être respectueuse, courtoise et présentée en anglais, en français, ou les deux.
  • Le CRSNG n’acceptera aucun matériel à caractère impoli, abusif ou offensant à l’égard d’une personne ou d’une organisation. Le CRSNG se réserve le droit de refuser, de modifier ou de supprimer le contenu :
    • raciste, haineux, sexiste, homophobe, diffamatoire, choquant ou contenant des menaces de mort;
    • portant des accusations graves, non prouvées, non fondées ou fausses contre des personnes ou des organisations;
    • abusif, agressif, grossier, explicite, vulgaire, violent, obscène ou pornographique;
    • incitant à commettre ou suggérant une activité illégale;
    • faisant l’annonce, la sollicitation, la publicité ou la promotion d’organisations ou d’entreprises;
    • tentant de diffamer ou de frauder une personne, un groupe ou une organisation;
    • inintelligible ou non pertinent.

Signatures

Avant de présenter votre demande au CRSNG à titre de candidat, vous devez lire et accepter les modalités énoncées dans le Formulaire de modalités de présentation des demandes. Il vous incombe de conserver une copie des modalités acceptées pour vos dossiers.

Si vous n'avez pas atteint l'âge de majorité dans votre province ou territoire, votre parent ou votre tuteur doit cosigner le formulaire de demande.

L'âge de majorité est de 18 ans dans les provinces suivantes : Alberta, Manitoba, Ontario, Ile-du Prince-Édouard, Québec et Saskatchewan.

L'âge de majorité est de 19 ans dans les provinces et les territoires suivants : Colombie-Britannique, Nouveau-Brunswick, Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, Territoires du Nord-Ouest, Nouvelle-Écosse, Nunavut et Yukon.

Liste des documents à présenter

Utilisez la liste de contrôle suivante pour vous assurer que votre demande est complète.

  • Le formulaire de demande
  • Les deux lettres d’appui
  • Les relevés de notes
  • Le formulaire de modalités de présentation des demandes
  • La vidéo