Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Institutional links

Twitter LinkedIn YouTube Facebook

Instructions for completing a letter of intent (LOI) to apply for a Discovery Horizons grant


General information

About the program

Read the program description before completing your LOI.

Am I eligible to apply?

Consult the Eligibility criteria for faculty to ensure that you can participate in this grant program as an applicant. NSERC verifies the eligibility of researchers only at the full application stage; however, it is important that you consult the eligibility criteria now and discuss any concerns with your institution’s research office.

Whom should I contact for help?

Collection and use of personal information

The information you provide in your application is collected under the authority of the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council Act and stored in a series of NSERC data banks described in This link will take you to another Web site Information about programs and information holdings. Details on the use and disclosure of this information are described on the Use and disclosure of personal information provided to NSERC page, in the NSERC program literature and below. The information is used in accordance with the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act.

Self-identification information

You are required to complete the self-identification form in order to apply for NSERC funding; however, you may select “Prefer not to answer” for any or all questions. NSERC appreciates your participation, which supports the granting agencies in monitoring the equity of their programs and strengthening equity, diversity and inclusion (EDI) in the research enterprise.

The self-identification information is collected as part of your user profile when you register in the Convergence Portal. It is not part of your application and is neither accessible to, nor shared with, external reviewers and/or selection committee members.

Discovery Horizons applicants and co-applicants will also be asked to provide consent for NSERC to potentially use their self-identification information to improve equity and diversity in funding decisions. Priority may be given to letters of intent and/or applications from those who self-identify as members of underrepresented groups, amongst similarly ranked LOIs and applications.

Application deadline

Your letter of intent to apply (LOI) must be received at NSERC by 8:00 p.m. (ET) on June 15, 2021. The LOI will not be accessible to edit once it is submitted.

Instructions

You must complete your LOI using the Convergence Portal.

Create your LOI

  • Sign in to the Convergence Portal. If you currently have an account on NSERC’s Research Portal, please use your existing credentials.
  • Select Funding Opportunities.
  • Select the Discovery Horizons funding opportunity labelled Stage: Letter of intent and select Create Application.

Participant eligibility

If you have previously completely an eligibility profile on Convergence, some fields will be pre-populated. You will be asked to review each screen and will have the opportunity to update any information you have previously provided.

Step 1 – Applicant eligibility: Answer the series of questions confirming the eligibility of your position and whether you fit NSERC’s definition of an early career researcher.
Step 2 – Affiliations: List all of your current affiliations and identify your primary affiliation. Select the organization that will administer the grant, even if you have not started the position yet.
Step 3 – Equity, diversity and inclusion (EDI): Complete the self-identification form, as required in order to apply for NSERC funding, however, you may select “Prefer not to answer” for any or all questions; see the self-identification section above for more information. 
Step 4 – Fields of research: List your This link will take you to another Web site fields of research and indicate at least one as a primary area of research. These do not need to be directly related to the application.
Step 5 – Keywords: Provide a minimum of five keywords that best describe, overall, your areas research. They do not need to be directly related to a specific application and will not be used for evaluation purposes.
Step 6 – Summary: Review the content submitted and click Create Application.
Step 7 – Terms and conditions: Accept the terms and conditions to begin the application process.

Completing the LOI

Please note that some information provided in your LOI will flow through to pre-populate the relevant sections of your full application, and can be revised at that stage.

Application details

Application title: Provide a short and descriptive title. It may be used for publication purposes. Limit the use of abbreviated forms (e.g., DNA, NATO, etc.), and avoid company or trade names.

Language of the application: Indicate the language in which the application will be submitted. The main body of your application should be written in either English or French, rather than in a mix of both official languages.

Fields of research

List the fields of research that best describe this specific application according to the This link will take you to another Web site 2019 version of the Canadian Research and Development Classification (CRDC). You must provide at least one primary field of research, and you may list up to a maximum of five fields of research.

Keywords

List a minimum of five keywords that best describe this specific application. You may list up to a maximum of ten keywords.

Invitations

Invite the co-applicants for this project. Note that co-applicants can be added or removed at both application stages (LOI or full application).

Those invited will receive an email, which will include the applicant’s name, email address, and the project title, as well as a link to the Convergence Portal. Once they have selected Accept Invitation and completed their own eligibility profile, co-applicants’ names will be displayed in the Participants section of your application.

Eligibility criteria for Discovery Horizons co-applicants is the same as for applicants; consult the Eligibility criteria for faculty to ensure that potential co-applicants can participate in this grant. NSERC verifies the eligibility of researchers only at the full application stage, however, it is important that potential applicants consult the eligibility criteria now and discuss any concerns with their institution’s research office.

Note: Email addresses are not verified and bounce backs are not registered. We strongly recommend that you follow up directly with invited co-applicants if an individual has not accepted your invitation in a timely manner.

Participants

This section lists all co-applicants who have successfully joined the project. If an individual has not accepted your invitation, follow up with them to confirm they have received it. If an invited co-applicant is listed as Pending Eligibility, they have accepted your invitation, but not yet completed their eligibility profile.

Collaborators

List the collaborators that will contribute to the execution of research activities, but who will not have access to grant funds.

Any individual whose contributions to the project will be supervised by a member of the research team and/ or another collaborator cannot be considered a collaborator.

Suggested reviewers

Provide the contact information for a minimum of five external reviewers for your full application who

  • are not in a conflict of interest (see below for the guidelines surrounding conflicts of interest)
  • are not from your own institution
  • are from different institutions
  • can provide an independent assessment of your application
  • are capable of reviewing your application in the language in which it is written

Applicants are encouraged to suggest a diverse cross-section of potential reviewers with appropriate expertise (Canadian, international, established and early career, women and other underrepresented groups, from academic and non-academic institutions).

Applicants must not contact suggested external reviewers in advance.

Conflict of interest guidelines

A conflict of interest may be deemed to exist or perceived as such when external reviewers 

  • are a relative or close friend, or have a personal relationship with the applicants 
  • are in a position to gain or lose financially/materially from the funding of the application 
  • have had long-standing scientific or personal differences with the applicants 
  • are currently affiliated with the applicants’ institutions, organizations or
    companies—including research hospitals and research institutes 
  • are closely professionally affiliated with the applicants, as a result of having in the last six years 
    • frequent and regular interactions with the applicants in the course of their duties at their department, institution, organization or company 
    • been a supervisor or a trainee of the applicants 
    • collaborated, published or shared funding with the applicants, or have plans to do so in the immediate future 
    • been employed by the institution, when an institution is the applicant 
  • feel for any reason unable to provide an impartial review of the application

NSERC reserves the right to resolve areas of uncertainty and to determine if a conflict of interest exists. For more information on conflicts of interest, refer to the This link will take you to another Web site Conflict of interest and confidentiality policy of the federal research funding organizations.

Reviewer exclusions

You may request that some researchers, organizations or large collaborations not be involved in the review of your application. Note that this request may be accessible to these researchers, organizations or collaborations under the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act.

If you wish to exclude a research collaboration, whole department or institution, please contact the Discovery Horizons program staff at horizons@nserc-crsng.gc.ca

Project summary and fit for program

LOIs will be assessed by peer reviewers evaluating the project’s relevance and fit to the Discovery Horizons program. Reviewers will rate the application, using the merit criteria grid included in the program description, based on the information you provide in your Project summary and your responses to the four open text fit-to-program points listed below.

  • Explain how this project would benefit from being assessed by a tri-agency interdisciplinary peer review committee, as opposed to a joint review by NSERC's Discovery Grants evaluation groups
  • Demonstrate that the interdisciplinary approach is essential to achieving the project goals
  • Describe how the interdisciplinary approach enriches HQP training
  • Demonstrate that the interdisciplinary elements are integrated and inseparable (i.e., not sub-projects that could be reviewed on their own merit).

Finalizing your LOI

Complete the sections identified by an exclamation mark before submitting.

Click on the Submit button at the bottom of the Finalize Application page and accept the terms and conditions.

You will receive a confirmation message on the web page. To verify the status of your submission, return to the home page. The status will be Received by Agency.

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Instructions pour créer la lettre d’intention de présenter une demande de subvention Horizons de la découverte

Renseignements généraux

Au sujet du programme

Avant de créer la lettre d’intention, consultez la description du programme.

Suis-je admissible à présenter une demande?

Pour savoir si vous pouvez participer à ce programme de subventions en tant que candidat, consultez les critères d’admissibilité pour les membres du corps professoral. Le CRSNG ne vérifie l’admissibilité des chercheurs qu’à l’étape de la demande; il est toutefois important de consulter dès maintenant les critères d’admissibilité et de discuter de vos préoccupations avec le bureau de la recherche de votre établissement.

À qui puis-je m’adresser pour obtenir de l’aide?

  • Pour obtenir des renseignements sur le programme, écrivez à horizons@nserc-crsng.gc.ca.
  • Pour obtenir des réponses à des questions concernant le portail Convergence, communiquez avec le Service de dépannage des services électroniques en faisant parvenir un courriel à webapp@nserc-crsng.gc.ca , en téléphonant au 613-995-4273 ou en remplissant une demande de soutien en ligne.

Collecte et utilisation des renseignements personnels

Les renseignements que vous fournissez dans votre demande sont recueillis en vertu de la Loi sur le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie et seront conservés dans des banques de données décrites à la page This link will take you to another Web site Renseignements sur les programmes et les fonds de renseignements. On donne des précisions sur l’utilisation et la communication de ces renseignements dans la section Utilisation et divulgation des renseignements personnels fournis au CRSNG, dans la documentation sur les programmes du CRSNG et dans la présente page. Les renseignements personnels sont utilisés conformément à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Renseignements de déclaration volontaire

Vous devez remplir le formulaire de déclaration volontaire pour pouvoir présenter une demande de financement au CRSNG. Pour chaque question, vous pouvez sélectionner l’option « Je préfère ne pas répondre ». Le CRSNG apprécie votre participation, car elle aide les organismes subventionnaires à surveiller l’équité dans leurs programmes et à améliorer l’équité, la diversité et l’inclusion (EDI) dans le milieu de la recherche.

Les renseignements de déclaration volontaire sont recueillis dans votre profil d’utilisateur lorsque vous vous inscrivez dans le portail Convergence. Ils sont fournis sur une base volontaire et ne font pas partie de votre demande. Ils ne seront pas communiqués aux évaluateurs externes ni aux membres du comité d’évaluation, et ceux-ci n’y auront pas accès.

En outre, le système demandera aux candidats et aux cocandidats d’autoriser le CRSNG à utiliser au besoin les renseignements de déclaration volontaire dans le but d’améliorer l’équité et la diversité dans les décisions de financement. Dans la mesure où des lettres d’intention ou des demandes ont obtenu une note similaire, l’organisme pourrait accorder la priorité aux lettres et aux demandes de personnes ayant déclaré faire partie d’un groupe sous-représenté.

Date limite de présentation de la lettre d’intention

Le CRSNG doit recevoir votre lettre d’intention de présenter une demande au plus tard à 20 h (heure de l’Est) le 15 juin 2021. Une fois déposée, la lettre d’intention ne pourra plus être modifiée.

Instructions

Vous devez remplir votre lettre d’intention de présenter une demande dans le portail Convergence.

Marche à suivre pour créer la lettre d’intention

  • Ouvrez une session dans le portail Convergence. Si vous avez un compte dans le Portail de recherche du CRSNG, veuillez utiliser vos données d’accès existantes.
  • Sélectionnez Occasions de financement.
  • Sélectionnez la possibilité de financement Horizons de la découverte intitulée Étape : Lettre d’intention, puis sélectionnez Créer la demande.

Admissibilité des candidats

Si vous avez déjà rempli un profil d’admissibilité dans Convergence, certains champs seront remplis automatiquement. Le système vous demandera de revoir chaque écran. Vous aurez alors la possibilité de mettre à jour vos renseignements.

Étape 1 – Admissibilité du candidat. Répondez à toutes les questions afin de déterminer si votre poste est admissible et si vous répondez à la définition de « chercheur en début de carrière » établie par le CRSNG.
Étape 2 – Affiliations. Indiquez toutes vos affiliations actuelles et précisez votre affiliation principale. Sélectionnez l’organisme qui administrera la subvention même si vous n’êtes pas encore entré en fonction.
Étape 3 – Équité, diversité et inclusion (EDI). Remplissez le formulaire de déclaration volontaire exigé afin de pouvoir présenter une demande de financement au CRSNG. Vous pouvez toutefois sélectionner l’option « Je préfère ne pas répondre » en réponse à une ou à plusieurs questions. Pour plus de détails, reportez-vous à la section Renseignements de déclaration volontaire. 
Étape 4 – Domaines de recherche. Indiquez vos This link will take you to another Web site domaines de recherche en précisant quel est le domaine prédominant. Les domaines de recherche ne doivent pas nécessairement être directement liés à la demande.  
Étape 5 – Mots-clés. Fournissez au moins cinq mots-clés qui décrivent bien vos secteurs de recherche dans leur ensemble. Ces mots-clés ne doivent pas nécessairement être directement liés à une demande en particulier et ne seront pas pris en compte dans le cadre de l’évaluation.
Étape 6 – Résumé. Passez en revue le contenu présenté et cliquez sur « Créer la demande ».
Étape 7 – Modalités et conditions. Acceptez les modalités et conditions pour amorcer le processus de demande.

Préparation de la lettre d’intention

Certains renseignements figurant dans la lettre d’intention s’afficheront automatiquement dans les champs pertinents de votre demande. Vous pourrez toutefois les modifier au cours de l’étape de la présentation de la demande. 

Détails relatifs à la demande

Titre de la demande – Donnez un titre court et descriptif. Il pourrait être utilisé aux fins de publication. Évitez les abréviations (p. ex. ADN, OTAN) ainsi que les noms d’entreprises et les marques de commerce.

Langue de la demande – Indiquez la langue dans laquelle la demande sera présentée. Le texte principal de votre demande doit être rédigé dans l’une ou l’autre des langues officielles (français ou anglais), mais non dans les deux.

Domaines de recherche

Indiquez les domaines de recherche visés par votre proposition en consultant la This link will take you to another Web site classification canadienne de la recherche et du développement 2019. Vous devez indiquer au moins un domaine de recherche principal. Vous pouvez inscrire jusqu’à cinq domaines de recherche.

Mots-clés

Inscrivez entre cinq et dix mots-clés qui décrivent le mieux votre proposition.

Invitations

Invitez des cocandidats à participer au projet. Soulignons que vous pourrez ajouter ou supprimer des cocandidats à chaque étape du processus (lettre d’intention et demande).
Les personnes invitées recevront un courriel qui comprendra votre nom, votre adresse de courriel, le titre du projet ainsi qu’un lien menant au portail Convergence. Une fois qu’elles auront cliqué sur Accepter l’invitation et rempli leur propre profil d’admissibilité, leur nom s’affichera dans la section Participants de votre demande.

Les critères d’admissibilité applicables aux cocandidats aux subventions Horizons de la découverte sont les mêmes que pour les candidats. Veuillez consulter les critères d’admissibilité pour les membres du corps professoral afin de vous assurer que les éventuels cocandidats peuvent participer à cette possibilité de financement. Le CRSNG ne vérifie l’admissibilité des chercheurs qu’à l’étape de la demande; il est toutefois important de consulter dès maintenant les critères d’admissibilité et de discuter de vos préoccupations avec le bureau de la recherche de votre établissement.

Remarque : Les adresses de courriel ne sont pas vérifiées et les retours automatiques en cas d’erreur ne sont pas enregistrés. Si un cocandidat invité ne répond pas à votre demande dans un délai raisonnable, nous vous recommandons vivement de faire un suivi directement auprès de lui.  

Participants

Cette section renferme la liste de tous les cocandidats qui ont accepté de participer au projet. Si une personne n’a pas accepté votre invitation, veuillez effectuer un suivi afin de vous assurer qu’elle l’a bien reçue. Si la mention En attente d’admissibilité s’affiche pour un cocandidat invité, c’est qu’il a accepté votre invitation mais n’a pas encore rempli son profil d’admissibilité.

Collaborateurs

Indiquez les collaborateurs qui contribueront à la réalisation des activités de recherche, mais n’auront pas accès aux fonds de la subvention.

Toute personne dont les contributions au projet seront supervisées par un membre de l’équipe de recherche ou un autre collaborateur ne peut être considérée comme un collaborateur.

Évaluateurs suggérés

Donnez les coordonnées d’au moins cinq évaluateurs externes pour la demande. Les évaluateurs proposés doivent satisfaire aux exigences suivantes :

  • ils ne sont pas en conflit d’intérêts (consultez les lignes directrices sur les conflits d’intérêts présentées ci-après);
  • ils ne proviennent pas du même établissement que vous;
  • ils proviennent de différents établissements;
  • ils sont en mesure d’effectuer une évaluation objective de votre demande;
  • ils sont en mesure d’évaluer votre demande dans la langue dans laquelle elle a été présentée.

Le CRSNG recommande aux candidats de proposer des personnes possédant les compétences nécessaires qui constitueraient un groupe hétérogène, c’est-à-dire des Canadiens et des étrangers, des chercheurs établis et d’autres en début de carrière, des femmes et des membres d’autres groupes sous-représentés, des personnes du milieu universitaire et des personnes d’autres milieux.

Les candidats ne doivent pas communiquer à l’avance avec les évaluateurs externes qu’ils ont suggérés.

Lignes directrices sur les conflits d’intérêts

Un conflit d’intérêts peut être considéré comme réel ou perçu lorsqu’un évaluateur externe se retrouve dans l’une des situations suivantes : 

  • être un parent ou un ami proche d’un candidat ou avoir une relation personnelle avec un candidat; 
  • être en position d’obtenir ou de perdre un avantage financier ou matériel en raison du financement de la demande; 
  • avoir depuis longtemps des divergences scientifiques ou personnelles avec les candidats; 
  • avoir une affiliation avec l’établissement, l’organisation ou l’entreprise d’un candidat, notamment des hôpitaux de recherche et des instituts de recherche; 
  • avoir une affiliation professionnelle étroite avec un candidat attribuable à la survenue de l’une des situations suivantes au cours des six dernières années : 
    • avoir des interactions fréquentes et régulières avec un candidat dans le cadre de fonctions exercées au sein d’un même département, d’un même établissement, d’une même organisation ou d’une même entreprise; 
    • avoir été le superviseur ou le stagiaire d’un candidat; 
    • avoir collaboré, publié ou partagé des fonds avec un candidat ou prévoir de le faire prochainement; 
    • travailler pour un établissement qui est candidat; 
  • avoir l’impression, pour une raison quelconque, d’être incapable de réaliser une évaluation impartiale de la demande.

Le CRSNG se réserve le droit de régler les situations ambigües et de déterminer s’il existe un conflit d’intérêts. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les conflits d’intérêts, consultez la This link will take you to another Web site Politique sur les conflits d’intérêts et la confidentialité des organismes fédéraux de financement de la recherche.

Exclusion d’évaluateurs

Vous pouvez demander que certains chercheurs, organisations ou collaborations ne participent pas à l’évaluation de votre demande. Veuillez noter qu’en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, ces chercheurs, organisations ou collaborations pourraient avoir accès à votre demande.
Si vous souhaitez exclure une collaboration de recherche, un département ou un établissement, veuillez communiquer avec le personnel responsable du programme Horizons de la découverte à l’adresse horizons@nserc-crsng.gc.ca.

Résumé du projet proposé et pertinence par rapport au programme

Des pairs évaluateurs évalueront votre lettre d’intention afin de déterminer la pertinence du projet proposé par rapport au programme Horizons de la découverte. Ils la noteront en suivant la grille de critères d’évaluation qui figure dans la description du programme, à partir de l’information fournie dans le résumé du projet et des renseignements fournis au sujet des points ci-après :

  • Expliquez en quoi il serait utile que ce projet fasse l’objet d’une évaluation par un comité interdisciplinaire des trois organismes composé de pairs plutôt que d’un examen conjoint par un groupe d’évaluation des subventions à la découverte du CRSNG.
  • Démontrez que l’approche interdisciplinaire est essentielle à l’atteinte des objectifs du projet.
  • Décrivez comment l’approche interdisciplinaire enrichit la formation du PHQ.
  • Démontrez que les éléments interdisciplinaires sont intégrés et inséparables (c.-à-d. qu’il ne s’agit pas de sous-projets pouvant être examinés selon leur propre valeur).

Finaliser la demande

Remplissez les sections marquées d’un point d’exclamation avant de présenter votre lettre d’intention.

Cliquez sur Soumettre au bas de la page Finaliser la demande, puis acceptez les modalités et conditions. Le système affichera un message confirmant la réception de votre lettre d’intention.

Pour vérifier l’état de votre lettre d’intention, retournez à la page d’accueil. L’état devrait indiquer Reçu par l’organisme.