Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Advisory Committee


The mandate for the five NSERC Regional Offices' Advisory Committees is to:

  • provide advice on how NSERC can enhance academic-industry partnerships in research, innovation and advanced training in the natural sciences and engineering;
  • provide input on the offices' activities and priorities, particularly efforts to strengthen collaboration between post-secondary institutions and the private sector;
  • provide opportunities to exchange information, build consensus and enhance collaboration between post-secondary institutions, the private sector, federal and provincial departments, and other organizations active in regional innovation systems;
  • contribute to the development of new regional collaborations and joint initiatives;
  • provide a forum for each office to reach out to, and maintain, productive links with key stakeholders in the region.


Members are initially asked to serve a one-year term, following which re-appointments will be made for either one-, two- or three-year terms to ensure an orderly transition.

Members include representation from the following groups involved in research, innovation and advanced training:

  • Senior officials from Canadian universities and colleges
  • Researchers
  • Government and non-government organizations
  • Industry, both from SMEs and large corporations

List of Advisory Committee Members

Name Organization
Claude Attendu
Executive Director
Quebec Region
NRC Industrial Research Assistance Program
National Research Council Canada
Sébastien Blais-Ouellette
President and CEO
Photon etc.
Martin Doyon
Senior Advisor
Direction des maillages et des partenariats industriels
Ministère de l’Économie, de la Science et de l’Innovation
Josette-Renée Landry
Vice President, Business Development
Maryse Lassonde
Scientific Director
Fonds de recherche du Québec – Nature et technologies
Pascal Monette
President and CEO
Gilles Savard
Director of Research and Innovation
École Polytechnique Montréal and
Conférence des recteurs et des principaux des universités du Québec (CRÉPUQ)
Éric Simard
President and NSERC Advisory Committee Chair
Idunn Technologies
Mathieu Vigneault
President and CEO
Réseau Trans-tech
Ex-Officio Members
Name Organization
Yves Beauchamp
NSERC Council Member
Vice-Principal, Administration and Finance

McGill University