Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Research Tools and Instruments grants program

New: Beginning next year (i.e., competition 2023, with a deadline of October 2022) Research Tools and Instruments (RTI) grants applicants and co-applicants who were successful in the previous year’s RTI competition will be ineligible to apply for one year. Eligibility will be reinstated the following competition year. This change is being implemented to increase access to the RTI program to the largest number of eligible researchers. This decision, as well as the changes to the selection criteria for this year, are informed by the recent evaluation of the Discovery research program and the results of the gender-based analysis plus (GBA+) of the RTI program.

Overview
Duration 1 year
Value Up to $150,000
Application deadline October 25
How to apply

See the Instructions for completing an application for more details on the application process.

For more information Consult the contact list.

Objectives

Research Tools and Instruments (RTI) grants foster and enhance the discovery, innovation and training capability of university researchers in the natural sciences and engineering by supporting the purchase of research equipment.

Description

The RTI grants program provides the primary avenue for university researchers in the natural sciences and engineering to obtain up to $150,000 in support for research tools and instruments with a net cost between $7,001 and $250,000. Net cost is defined as the purchase cost of the equipment after any discount from the vendor and before taxes, customs and importation fees, transportation and shipping charges, and assembly and installation costs. The vendor discount must be free of conditions, restrictions or limitations (e.g., cannot be offered in exchange for services from users benefiting the vendor company). The research community is also encouraged to explore other avenues for funding research tools and instruments, including NSERC’s other programs that allow the purchase of equipment as eligible expenses.

NSERC will only accept the following requests:

  • for tools and instruments that form a comprehensive system intended to support NSERC-funded research in the natural sciences and engineering. A comprehensive system is one in which each tool or instrument forms part of an integrated system of operation to support the research program(s)
    • a comprehensive system is one in which each tool or instrument forms part of an integrated system of operation to support the research program(s)
    • requests that bundle unrelated tools and instruments together will not be accepted
  • for the purchase of new, used or refurbished equipment, for the repair, upgrade or rental of equipment or for the fabrication of equipment that is not readily available off the shelf
  • for equipment that is purchased or rented after the application deadline

Note: Equipment and items that are part of laboratory infrastructure or intended to render other equipment compliant with health and safety standards are ineligible for RTI support.

For more information on eligible expenses under the RTI program, see the instructions on how to complete an RTI application.

Equity, diversity and inclusion

NSERC is acting on the evidence that achieving a more equitable, diverse and inclusive Canadian research enterprise is essential to creating the excellent, innovative and impactful research necessary to advance knowledge and understanding, and to respond to local, national and global challenges. This principle informs the commitments described in the Tri-agency statement on equity, diversity and inclusion (EDI).

Applicants are encouraged to increase the inclusion and advancement of under-represented groups in the natural sciences and engineering as one way to enhance excellence in research and training. Where applicable, consideration of sex, gender and diversity in the research design should be addressed in the proposal. Equity, diversity and inclusion considerations should be developed into the rationale of the composition of research teams and trainees.

For more information, refer to the Guide for applicants: Considering equity, diversity and inclusion in your application.

Use of funds

RTI grants must be used only for the specific type of equipment for which the grant was awarded through the peer review process. Grantees who wish to purchase equipment different from that specified in the application must obtain written permission from NSERC’s grants administration prior to its purchase. Grantees may, however, buy a model different from that requested in the application without prior NSERC approval (e.g., newer or upgraded model).

Eligibility to apply for and hold funds

To be eligible to apply for and to hold RTI funds, applicants and co-applicants must each

  • meet NSERC’s eligibility criteria for faculty
  • hold at least one of the following NSERC research grants (either as an applicant or co-applicant): *
    • Discovery Grant
    • Discovery Development grant
    • Alliance grant
    • Strategic Partnership grant
    • Collaborative Research and Development grant
    • Industrial Research Chairs grant
    • Canada Research Chairs
    • Canada Excellence Research Chairs
    • Canada 150 Research Chairs

*Applicants and co-applicants may apply for any of the above grants while concurrently applying to the RTI program. However, if any applicant or co-applicant does not hold one of the above grants by the RTI award start date, or is not successful in obtaining one of these grants while concurrently applying to the RTI program, the applicant and/or co-applicant will be deemed ineligible and removed from the application.  

Application procedures

Researchers can submit one RTI application per competition, either as an applicant or a co‑applicant but not both.

To apply, applicants must submit an application for RTI grants through the research portal by the deadline date. Each applicant and co-applicant must also complete a Canadian Common CV (CCV) and link it to the application.

Teams should strive for a diverse group of co-applicants and major users, including balanced gender representation. Equity, diversity and inclusion considerations should be reflected in the rationale of the team composition and, where applicable, in the designated roles within the team. For more information, refer to the Guide for applicants: Considering equity, diversity and inclusion in your application (questions 1 to 4).

If applicable, applicants must include two (2) recent quotations for any individual item(s) over $25,000 net or for any system(s) to be purchased from a single supplier and costing more than $25,000 net. If the required number of quotations cannot reasonably be submitted, applicants must provide a clear justification in the Budget justification section.

Attachments that do not adhere to the guidelines should not be included and may be removed.

Review procedures and selection criteria

Applications for RTI grants submitted to NSERC are reviewed by experts on a competitive basis. Experts on NSERC RTI selection committees follow the guidelines in the Research Tools and Instruments peer review manual.

Applications to the RTI program are assessed on the basis of the three following weighted selection criteria. The onus is on the applicant to thoroughly address each criterion in the application and to provide detailed information.

  1. Need, urgency and suitability (40%):1
    • demonstration that the equipment is essential for the research and that there are no other more cost-effective ways of obtaining the results
    • availability of similar equipment/facilities/services in the vicinity
    • impact of a delay in acquisition of equipment on the research and the pace of research progress
    • need to upgrade or replace obsolete or failed equipment
    • degree of utilization of the equipment by the applicant(s) and other users
  2. Feasibility and impact (40%):
    • quality and significance of research programs, including potential for major advances and impact in the discipline as a result of the equipment
    • feasibility of the plan to use the equipment
    • extent to which the applicant has relevant experience or has presented a training plan to demonstrate how they will gain the ability to fully use the equipment
    • consideration of equity, diversity and inclusion in the rationale of the team composition (applicant, co-applicant(s) and major users)
  3. Training of highly qualified personnel (HQP) (20%):
    • quality and extent of training
    • opportunity for hands-on training
    • potential to provide marketable skills for students trained on the equipment
    • consideration of equity, diversity and inclusion in the training of HQP

Important: trainee demographic data is not requested, nor required to assess impacts related to equity, diversity and inclusion in the research and training environment.

1If you anticipate use by or benefit to other sectors, describe the support secured from these sources or demonstrate the efforts made to obtain such support.

Resources

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Programme de subventions d'outils et d'instruments de recherche

Nouveau : Pour le prochain concours (c’est-à-dire le concours 2023, dont la date limite de présentation des demandes est en octobre 2022) et les concours ultérieurs, les candidats et les cocandidats dont la demande de subvention d’outils et d’instruments de recherche (OIR) avait été retenue dans le cadre du concours précédent ne pourront pas présenter de demande pendant un an. Ils redeviendront admissibles l’année suivante. Cette modification vise à permettre au plus grand nombre possible de chercheurs admissibles d’avoir accès au programme. La décision et les modifications apportées aux critères de sélection pour le prochain concours découlent de l’évaluation récente du Programme de recherche axée sur la découverte et des résultats de l’analyse comparative entre les sexes plus (ACS+) du Programme de subventions d’OIR.

Aperçu

Durée

1 an
Valeur

Au plus 150 000 $

Date limite 25 octobre
Pour faire une demande

Pour en savoir plus sur le processus de demande, consultez les instructions relatives à la présentation des demandes.

Pour en savoir plus Consultez la liste des points de contact

Objectifs

Les subventions d’OIR visent à favoriser et à améliorer la capacité de découverte, d’innovation et de formation en recherche des chercheurs universitaires en sciences naturelles et en génie en appuyant l’achat d’appareils de recherche.

Description

Le Programme de subventions d’OIR, qui offre un appui d’au plus 150 000 $, est la principale source d’appui financier offerte aux chercheurs universitaires en sciences naturelles et en génie pour l’achat d’outils et d’instruments de recherche dont le cout net se situe entre 7 001 $ et 250 000 $. Le cout net est défini comme le cout d’achat de l’appareil demandé après tout rabais consenti par le fournisseur et avant les taxes, les droits de douane et d’importation, les frais de transport et d’expédition et les couts d’assemblage et d’installation. Aucune condition, restriction ou limitation ne doit être reliée au rabais du fournisseur (p. ex., le rabais ne peut être offert en échange de services rendus par les utilisateurs au profit de l’entreprise du fournisseur). Le milieu de la recherche est encouragé à trouver d’autres sources de financement pour les outils et les instruments de recherche, comme d’autres programmes du CRSNG dans le cadre desquels l’achat d’appareils est une dépense admissible.

Le CRSNG accepte seulement :

  • les demandes de financement qui visent des outils et instruments formant un système complet et servant à appuyer la recherche qu’il finance dans les domaines des sciences naturelles et en génie.
    • Dans un système complet, chaque outil ou instrument fait partie d’un système d’exploitation intégré qui appuie le ou les programmes de recherche.
    • Les demandes qui visent un ensemble disparate d’outils et d’instruments sont rejetées.
  • les demandes de financement pour l’achat d’appareils neufs, usagés ou remis à neuf, pour la réparation, la mise à niveau ou la location d’appareils ou pour la fabrication d’appareils qui ne sont pas facilement disponibles sur le marché;
  • les demandes de financement d’appareils qui sont achetés ou loués après la date limite de réception des demandes.

Remarque : Les appareils et les articles qui font partie d’une infrastructure de laboratoire ou qui visent à assurer la conformité d’appareils aux normes de santé et de sécurité ne sont pas admissibles à l’appui d’une subvention d’OIR.

Pour obtenir des renseignements sur les dépenses admissibles en vertu du Programme de subventions d’OIR, veuillez lire les instructions pour présenter une demande.

Équité, diversité et inclusion

Le CRSNG prend des mesures concrètes afin de créer un milieu de la recherche équitable, diversifié et inclusif au Canada, lequel est essentiel à la réalisation de travaux inédits et de qualité exceptionnelle qui génèrent des retombées et qui permettent d’approfondir les connaissances et de résoudre des problèmes locaux, nationaux et mondiaux. C’est sur ce principe que reposent les engagements formulés dans l’Énoncé des trois organismes sur l’équité, la diversité et l’inclusion.

Le CRSNG encourage les candidats à accroitre l’intégration et l’avancement des groupes sous-représentés dans le domaine des sciences naturelles et du génie afin de favoriser l’excellence dans la recherche et la formation. S’il y a lieu, les candidats devraient tenir compte dans la proposition des questions liées au sexe, au genre et à la diversité dans le plan de recherche. Ils devraient également tenir compte des questions relatives à l’équité, à la diversité et à l’inclusion dans la justification de la composition des équipes de recherche et du choix des stagiaires.

Pour en savoir plus, consultez le Guide du candidat : Tenir compte de l’équité, de la diversité et de l’inclusion dans votre demande.

Utilisation des subventions

Les subventions d’OIR doivent être utilisées exclusivement pour le type d’appareil précis pour lequel la subvention a été accordée à l’issue d’une évaluation par les pairs. Les titulaires d’une subvention d’OIR qui souhaitent acheter des appareils autres que ceux qui sont précisés dans la demande doivent obtenir une permission écrite de la part du personnel chargé de l’administration des subventions du CRSNG avant d’en effectuer l’achat. Cependant, les titulaires peuvent acheter un modèle différent de celui qui a été précisé dans la demande (p. ex., un modèle plus récent ou mis à niveau) sans obtenir l’approbation préalable du CRSNG.

Admissibilité à présenter une demande et à détenir des fonds

Pour être admissible à présenter une demande et à détenir des fonds à titre de candidat ou de cocandidat, vous devez :

  • satisfaire aux critères d’admissibilité pour les membres du corps professoral;
  • détenir au moins l’une des subventions du CRSNG suivantes (à titre de candidat ou de cocandidat)* :
    • subvention à la découverte;
    • subvention à la découverte axée sur le développement;
    • subvention Alliance;
    • subvention de partenariat stratégique;
    • subvention de recherche et développement coopérative;
    • subvention de professeur-chercheur industriel;
    • subvention de chaire de recherche du Canada;
    • subvention de chaire d’excellence en recherche du Canada;
    • subvention de chaire de recherche Canada 150.

*Les candidats ou cocandidats peuvent présenter une demande en vue d’obtenir n’importe laquelle des subventions susmentionnées en même temps qu’une demande de subvention d’OIR. Toutefois, si le candidat ou un cocandidat ne détient pas une de ces subventions à la date de début de la période de validité de la subvention d’OIR, ou si le candidat ou un cocandidat n’obtient pas une de ces subventions, il sera jugé inadmissible et son nom sera retiré de la demande.

Présentation des demandes

Les chercheurs peuvent présenter une demande de subvention d’OIR par concours, soit comme candidat ou cocandidat, mais non les deux.

Pour faire une demande, les candidats doivent présenter une demande de subvention d’OIR au moyen du Portail de recherche au plus tard à la date limite. Chaque candidat et cocandidat doit également remplir le CV commun canadien (CVC) du CRNSG et le joindre à la demande.

Les équipes doivent tenter d’établir une composition diversifiée et une représentation équilibrée des sexes chez les cocandidats et les principaux utilisateurs. Il faudrait tenir compte des questions relatives à l’équité, à la diversité et à l’inclusion dans la justification de la composition de l’équipe et, le cas échéant, dans l’assignation des rôles au sein de l’équipe. Pour en savoir plus, consultez le Guide du candidat : Tenir compte de l’équité, de la diversité et de l’inclusion dans votre demande (questions 1 à 4).

S’il y a lieu, les candidats doivent inclure dans la demande deux propositions de prix récentes pour tout article de plus de 25 000 $ net ou tout système qui, chez un même fournisseur, coute plus de 25 000 $ net. Si un candidat ne peut présenter le nombre de propositions de prix demandé, il doit fournir une justification claire à cet égard dans la page Justification du budget.

Les pièces jointes qui ne respectent pas les lignes directrices ne doivent pas être jointes à la demande et pourraient être supprimées.

Évaluation des demandes et critères de sélection

Les demandes de subvention d’OIR présentées au CRSNG sont évaluées par des experts dans le cadre d’un concours. Les experts qui siègent aux comités de sélection des subventions d’OIR du CRSNG suivent les lignes directrices du Manuel d’évaluation par les pairs des demandes de subvention d’outils et d’instruments de recherche.

Les demandes de subvention d’OIR sont évaluées en fonction des trois critères de sélection pondérés suivants. Il incombe aux candidats de répondre à chaque critère de manière approfondie dans leur demande et de donner des renseignements détaillés.

  1. Besoin, urgence et pertinence (40 %)1
    • Démonstration que l’appareil est essentiel à la recherche et qu’il n’existe aucun autre moyen plus économique d’obtenir les mêmes résultats
    • Disponibilité d’autres appareils, installations ou services dans les environs
    • Conséquences d’un retard dans l’acquisition de l’appareil sur la recherche et sur le rythme des progrès
    • Besoin de mettre à niveau ou de remplacer de l’appareillage obsolète ou défectueux
    • Degré d’utilisation de l’appareil par le ou les candidats et par d’autres utilisateurs
  2. Faisabilité et incidence (40 %)
    • Qualité et importance du programme de recherche, y compris le potentiel d’une incidence et de progrès importants dans la discipline grâce à l’utilisation de l’appareil
    • Faisabilité du plan d’utilisation de l’appareil
    • Mesure dans laquelle l’expérience du candidat est pertinente ou dans laquelle il a présenté un plan de formation indiquant les mesures qu’il prendra pour pouvoir utiliser pleinement l’appareil
    • Prise en compte des questions relatives à l’équité, à la diversité et à l’inclusion dans la justification de la composition de l’équipe (candidat, cocandidats et principaux utilisateurs)
  3. Formation de personnel hautement qualifié (PHQ) (20 %)
    • Qualité et étendue de la formation
    • Occasion de formation pratique
    • Potentiel d’offrir des compétences monnayables aux étudiants qui reçoivent une formation sur l’appareil
    • Prise en compte des questions relatives à l’équité, à la diversité et à l’inclusion dans la formation de PHQ

Remarque importante : Les données démographiques sur les stagiaires ne sont pas demandées. Elles ne sont pas nécessaires pour évaluer les retombées sur le plan de l’équité, de la diversité et de l’inclusion dans l’environnement de recherche et de formation.

1Si vous prévoyez que d’autres secteurs utiliseront l’appareil ou en retireront des avantages, vous devez indiquer l’appui que fourniront ces sources ou démontrer les efforts déployés en vue de l’obtenir.

Ressources