Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

NSERCís Guidelines on Environmental Review and Assessment

On the basis of rigorous peer review and in the context of its various programs, NSERC promotes and supports research on the environment and sustainable development.

Where applicable, NSERC must comply with the This link will take you to another Web site Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan and Program Proposals.

Where applicable, NSERC must also comply with the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act, 2012 (CEAA 2012) by ensuring that the research and activities it supports are not likely to cause significant adverse environmental effects in areas within federal jurisdiction.

NSERC and CEAA 2012

The CEAA 2012, related regulations and guidelines can be found as follows:

Definitions:

  • A “project” is defined as a physical activity that is carried out on federal lands or outside Canada in relation to a physical work and is not a designated project (This link will take you to another Web site section 66, CEAA 2012).  A “physical work” is generally accepted as being constructed by humans and having a defined area and a fixed locality. A “physical activity” is any activity that involves some degree of physical effort carried out in relation to a physical work.  Examples of projects include the construction, expansion, operation, decommissioning or abandonment of smaller structures such as observation blinds, boardwalks, field camps, and small wind or wave turbines.
  • Designated projects” are defined as one or more physical activities that are carried out anywhere in Canada, including all federal lands; listed in the This link will take you to another Web site Regulations Designating Physical Activities (RDPA) and include the construction, expansion, operation, decommissioning or abandonment of structures such as mines, highways, bridges, airports and nuclear facilities.

Activities funded by NSERC are subject to assessment or review under CEAA 2012 when they are either “designated projects” or “projects” as described above (This link will take you to another Web site sections 67 and 68, CEAA 2012).

In cases where NSERC funding is requested to support a “designated project”, NSERC will require the proponent (applicant) to submit a project description (This link will take you to another Web site Prescribed Information for the Description of a Designated Project Regulations) for the proposal to the CEA Agency, which has the authority to determine whether an Environmental Assessment (EA) is necessary. As appropriate, the CEA Agency will either conduct the assessment itself or refer the proposal to the National Energy Board (NEB) or Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC). 

In cases where NSERC funding will be used to support a “project”, NSERC will conduct its own environmental review. 

Administrative Matters

NSERC requires that applicants self-identify on grant applications when a "project" takes place on federal lands or outside of Canada. 

During the course of an award, grant holders must promptly advise NSERC if the nature of the research activities changes substantially, and/or the location where the research will be conducted changes, such that the Act might be applicable.

1. In cases where the proposed activities constitute a “designated project”, NSERC will verify that the applicant has submitted a project description to the CEA Agency for review, in accordance with the This link will take you to another Web site Prescribed Information for the Description of a Designated Project Regulations (CEAA 2012). 

2. In cases where the proposed activities constitute a “project”, NSERC will conduct its own environmental review to determine whether they are likely to cause significant adverse environmental effects, taking into account This link will take you to another Web site section 5, CEAA 2012.

3. In cases where the proposed activities in an NSERC grant application depend on a “designated project” or “project” funded by another organization, NSERC may make the award conditional on the completion of the environmental assessment or review of the related “designated project” or “project.”

For any of the above situations, funds for successful applications will be released by NSERC only if it is established that the “designated project” or “project” will not likely result in significant adverse environmental effects.  Partial funding may be released, at NSERC’s discretion, for related research activities not requiring an environmental review or assessment.

In addition to the environmental assessments and reviews described above, NSERC requires that the grant holder(s) themselves comply with all applicable legislation and regulations related to the environment in the conduct of their research.  This includes licenses for research in the field, etc. (see the This link will take you to another Web site Tri-Agency Framework for the Responsible Conduct of Research, Section 2.4).

NSERC staff will provide guidance and information to applicants and institutions as needed.

This document will be updated as required. 

People Discovery Innovation

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Lignes directrices du CRSNG sur les évaluations et les examens environnementaux

En se fondant sur un processus d’évaluation par les pairs rigoureux et dans le contexte de ses divers programmes, le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada (CRSNG) encourage et appuie la recherche sur l’environnement et le développement durable.

S’il y a lieu, le CRSNG doit respecter la Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Directive du Cabinet sur l’évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes.

S’il y a lieu, le CRSNG doit également se conformer à la Loi canadienne sur l’évaluation environnementale (2012) (LCEE 2012) en veillant à ce que la recherche et les activités qu’il finance ne soient pas susceptibles d’avoir des effets environnementaux négatifs importants dans des secteurs de compétence fédérale.

Le CRSNG et la LCEE 2012

La LCEE 2012, les règlements et les lignes directrices connexes sont présentés comme suit :

Définitions :

  • Un « projet » s’entend d’une activité concrète qui est réalisée sur un territoire domanial ou à l’étranger, est liée à un ouvrage et qui n’est pas un projet désigné (Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web article 66, LCEE 2012). Un « ouvrage » s’entend généralement d’une construction humaine dont la superficie est définie et l’emplacement fixe. Une « activité concrète » est une activité qui requiert le déploiement d’un certain degré d’effort physique relativement à un ouvrage. Mentionnons à titre d'exemple de projets la construction, l’agrandissement, l’exploitation, la désaffectation et la fermeture de petites structures comme les caches d’observation, les trottoirs de bois, les camps, les petites éoliennes ou les petits houlogénérateurs.
  • Un « projet désigné » s’entend d’une ou plusieurs activités concrètes exercées au Canada ou sur un territoire domanial. Ces activités sont énumérées dans le Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Règlement désignant les activités concrètes (RDAC) et comprennent la construction, l’agrandissement, l’exploitation, la désaffectation ou la fermeture de structures comme les mines, les routes, les ponts, les aéroports et les installations nucléaires.

Les activités financées par le CRSNG font l’objet d’une évaluation ou d’un examen en vertu de la LCEE 2012, quand il s’agit de « projets désignés » ou de « projets », tels qu’ils sont décrits ci‑dessus (Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web paragraphes 67 et 68, LCEE 2012).

Lorsque son financement est requis pour appuyer un « projet désigné », le CRSNG demandera au promoteur (le candidat) de présenter une description du projet proposé (Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Règlement sur les renseignements à inclure dans la description d’un projet désigné) à l’ACEE, qui est habilitée à déterminer si une évaluation environnementale s’impose. Au besoin, l’ACEE effectuera l’évaluation elle-même ou renverra la proposition à l’Office national de l’énergie (ONE) ou à la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN).

Lorsque le financement du CRSNG sert à appuyer un « projet », le CRSNG effectuera lui-même un examen environnemental.

Questions administratives

Le CRSNG oblige les candidats à indiquer dans la demande de subvention si un « projet » se déroulera sur un territoire domanial ou à l’étranger.

Pendant la période de validité de leur subvention, les titulaires doivent informer rapidement le CRSNG si la nature des activités de recherche évolue considérablement ou si l’emplacement de la recherche change à un point tel que la LCEE pourrait s’appliquer.

1. Lorsque les activités proposées constituent un « projet désigné », le CRSNG vérifiera si le candidat a soumis à l’examen de l’ACEE une description du projet, conformément au Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Règlement sur les renseignements à inclure dans la description d’un projet désigné (LCEE 2012). 

2. Lorsque les activités proposées constituent un « projet », le CRSNG effectuera lui-même son examen environnemental pour déterminer si ces activités sont susceptibles d’avoir des effets environnementaux négatifs importants, en tenant compte l’Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web article 5 de la LCEE 2012.

3. Lorsque les activités proposées dans la demande de subvention présentée au CRSNG relèvent d’un « projet désigné » ou d’un « projet » financé par un autre organisme, le CRSNG peut rendre l’octroi conditionnel à la réalisation de l’évaluation ou de l’examen environnemental du « projet désigné » ou du « projet » connexe.

Dans toutes les situations susmentionnées, les candidats dont la demande aura été retenue ne recevront pas de fonds du CRSNG avant qu’il ait été établi que le « projet désigné » ou le « projet » n’est pas susceptible d’avoir des effets environnementaux négatifs importants. Un financement partiel peut être accordé, à la discrétion du CRSNG, pour les activités de recherche connexes n’exigeant aucune évaluation ni aucun examen environnemental.

Outre les évaluations et les examens environnementaux décrits ci-dessus, le CRSNG exige que les titulaires d’une subvention respectent dans le cadre de leurs recherches toutes les lois et tous les règlements applicables se rapportant à l’environnement. Ils doivent notamment obtenir des licences pour effectuer des recherches sur le terrain, le cas échéant (voir le Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web paragraphe 2.4 du Cadre de référence des trois organismes sur la conduite responsable de la recherche).

Au besoin, le CRSNG donnera aux candidats et aux établissements l’information et les orientations nécessaires.

Le présent document sera mis à jour au besoin.

Les gens. La découverte. L'innovation.