Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Tri-Council

ARCHIVED – Tri-Council Policy Statement: Integrity in Research and Scholarship

ARCHIVED

This information has been archived. Visit the Responsible Conduct of Research page for current information.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the This link will take you to another Web site Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.


As the major federal sources of funds for research and scholarship in academic institutions, the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR), the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council (NSERC), and the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC) are committed to the highest standards of integrity in research and scholarship.

The Councils have therefore undertaken to define their policies and expectations with regard to integrity, in a manner consistent with encouraging the highest standards of research and scholarship. The Councils regard any action that is inconsistent with integrity as misconduct.

Integrity in research and scholarship includes the principles listed below, which should be interpreted with the understanding that research can involve honest error, conflicting data or valid differences in experimental design or in interpretation or judgment of information.

These principles of scientific integrity overlap with other areas, such as financial integrity in the use of research funds and the ethical issues involving the use of human or animal subjects in research, in which the Councils have established guidelines and requirements. This document is concerned only with scientific integrity and does not replace any other statements from the Councils on other areas with which this issue may overlap.

Principles and Responsibilities

  1. The Councils hold researchers and scholars receiving Council funds responsible for upholding the following principles:
    1. recognizing the substantive contributions of collaborators and students; using unpublished work of other researchers and scholars only with permission and with due acknowledgement; and using archival material in accordance with the rules of the archival source;
    2. obtaining the permission of the author before using new information, concepts or data originally obtained through access to confidential manuscripts or applications for funds for research or training that may have been seen as a result of processes such as peer review;
    3. using scholarly and scientific rigour and integrity in obtaining, recording and analysing data, and in reporting and publishing results;
    4. ensuring that authorship of published work includes all those who have materially contributed to, and share responsibility for, the contents of the publication, and only those people; and
    5. revealing to sponsors, universities, journals or funding agencies, any material conflict of interest, financial or other, that might influence their decisions on whether the individual should be asked to review manuscripts or applications, test products or be permitted to undertake work sponsored from outside sources.
  2. The Councils hold institutions that administer Council funds responsible for:
    1. promoting integrity in research and scholarship; and
    2. investigating possible instances of misconduct in research or scholarship, including:
      • imposing appropriate sanctions in accordance with their own policies; and
      • informing the appropriate Council(s) of conclusions reached and actions taken.
  3. The Councils are responsible to the Government of Canada for ensuring that research funds administered by them are used with a high degree of integrity, accountability and responsibility.

Procedures for Promoting Integrity and for Preventing and Addressing Misconduct in Research

1. Researchers and Scholars

The primary responsibility for high standards of conduct in research and scholarship rests with the individuals carrying out these activities. The Councils expect researchers and scholars receiving funds from the Councils to adhere to the principles detailed in the preceding section.

2. Research Institutions

The Councils hold institutions responsible for investigating allegations of misconduct involving researchers, trainees or research staff working with funds from the Councils. Promotion by the institutions of understanding of the issues involved in integrity in research and scholarship offers a valuable means of preventing misconduct.

  1. Promoting Integrity in Research and Scholarship

    Integrity in research and scholarship is best encouraged by developing awareness among all involved of the need for the highest standards of integrity, accountability and responsibility. Research institutions should provide an environment conducive to this goal, and actively promote programs for the education of researchers, scholars, trainees and staff.

    The Councils encourage institutions that manage the Councils' funds to establish mechanisms to educate all who are involved in the collection, recording, citing, reporting and retention of scientific or scholarly material about their expectations for the highest standards of integrity.

    Mechanisms for meeting this objective might include encouraging awareness of the issues involved and establishing policies on specific areas. Awareness might be encouraged by establishing information sessions on the principles and practices of scientific integrity for scientists, scholars, graduate students and other trainees, and research staff when they arrive in the institution and at regular intervals thereafter. Institutions are encouraged to develop policies on such areas as requirements for authorship for publications or applications, on copyrights and patents, and on the responsibilities for retention of data appropriate to the range of disciplines that they offer.

  2. Investigating Allegations of Misconduct in Research and Scholarship

    Allegations may arise from anonymous or identified sources within or outside the research institution; the allegations may be well founded, honestly erroneous or mischievous. Whatever their source, motivation or accuracy, such allegations have the potential to cause great harm to the persons accused, to the accuser, to the institution, and to research and scholarship in general. Each Council requires each research institution that administers its funds to demonstrate that appropriate impartial and accountable procedures have been established to:

    1. receive allegations of misconduct in research and scholarship;
    2. conduct and document appropriate enquiries within an established time period;
    3. protect the privacy of the person(s) accused and of the person(s) making the allegations as far as is possible given the need for due process in pursuing the enquiry;
    4. allow the accused person(s) due process and full opportunity to respond to the allegations throughout the enquiry through mechanisms consistent with due process and natural justice;
    5. decide whether or not there has been misconduct;
    6. determine the actions to be taken as a result of conclusions reached, including:
      • any sanctions imposed;
      • any actions taken to protect or restore the reputation(s) or credibility of any person(s) wrongly accused of, or implicated in, misconduct in research, including procedures to ensure that if the charges have been dismissed copies of documents and related files provided to third parties have been destroyed; and
      • any actions taken to protect the person(s) deemed to have made a responsible accusation;
    7. inform the accused person(s) of the results of the enquiry and of the actions that have been decided upon; and
    8. prepare a report on the above.

3. Research Funding Councils

Allegations of misconduct made to the Councils or to research institutions might involve past or present grantees or awardees of the Councils, or trainees or staff supported from their funds or working in laboratories receiving their funds. Such allegations might also arise from the peer review processes of the Councils. Under provisions of the Privacy Act, the Councils may only transmit allegations of misconduct in research with the permission of the person making the allegations. The Councils will not transmit oral allegations to the institution, or otherwise act upon them, since these cannot be assessed or transferred accurately.

In the event that a Council, or one of its peer review committees, identifies evidence of misconduct as part of the peer review processes, the Council will request that the institution(s) involved carry out an enquiry and inform the Council of the outcome.

The Councils request that institutions which have carried out enquiries of alleged misconduct in research or scholarship involving projects funded by the Councils provide the appropriate Council(s) with the report of their findings. The Council(s) will consider the report and may request clarification or additional information.

In cases where misconduct is concluded to have occurred, the Council(s) will also consider imposing its/their own sanction(s) in relation to grants made to the individual(s) implicated, in accordance with Council policies. These sanctions may include, but are not limited to:

  • refusing to consider future applications for a defined time period;
  • withdrawing remaining instalments of the grant or award;
  • seeking a refund of all or part of the funds already paid as a grant or award for the research or scholarship involved.

If such actions are being considered, the Council(s) will provide an opportunity for the person(s) involved to present a response.

The Council(s) will then inform the person(s) and the institution(s) involved of any impending sanction.

As agencies of the federal government, the Councils retain the right at any time to bring a case to the attention of the appropriate legal authorities.

People Discovery Innovation

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

les trois Organismes

ARCHIVÉE – Politique inter-conseils sur l'intégrité dans la recherche et les travaux d'érudition

ARCHIVÉE

Cette page Web est archivée. Pour obtenir de l’information courante, consultez la page La conduite responsable de la recherche.

Contenu archivé

L’information archivée dans le site Web sert à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la This link will take you to another Web site Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un autre format en communiquant avec nous.


Les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada (IRSC), le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie (CRSNG) et le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines (CRSH), à titre de sources principales de financement de la recherche universitaire, sont tenus d'observer les normes d'intégrité les plus élevées dans la recherche et dans l'érudition.

Les trois conseils ont donc entrepris d'adopter leurs propres politiques et de définir leurs attentes quant à l'intégrité, de manière à promouvoir l'application de normes très élevées pour ce qui est de l'intégrité dans la recherche et les travaux d'érudition. Ils considéreront comme une inconduite tout geste ou action non conforme à ces normes.

Les principes énoncés ci-après doivent être interprétés compte tenu du fait que toute recherche peut donner lieu à des erreurs pouvant être commises de bonne foi, à des données contradictoires ou à des différences valides dans les protocoles expérimentaux, ou dans l'interprétation des renseignements.

Ces principes d'intégrité scientifique peuvent en recouper d'autres, par exemple, la question de l'intégrité financière que pose l'utilisation des fonds de recherche et la question d'éthique relative à l'utilisation de sujets humains ou d'animaux dans la recherche. Les trois conseils ont d'ailleurs formulé des directives et exigences sur ces questions. Le présent document ne porte que sur l'intégrité scientifique et ne remplace nullement les autres énoncés des conseils portant sur d'autres domaines connexes.

Principes et responsabilités

  1. Les conseils considèrent que les chercheurs auxquels ils fournissent des fonds ont la responsabilité de suivre les principes suivants :
    1. faire état de toute contribution importante des collaborateurs et des étudiants; n'utiliser les travaux inédits d'autres chercheurs et universitaires qu'avec leur permission, en y faisant dûment mention; et utiliser les archives conformément aux règles établies par les sources archivistiques;
    2. obtenir la permission de l'auteur avant d'utiliser des renseignements, données ou concepts nouveaux obtenus grâce à l'accès à des manuscrits confidentiels ou à des demandes de financement de la recherche ou de la formation dans le cadre de processus comme l'examen par les pairs;
    3. appliquer les principes de rigueur et d'intégrité scientifiques dans l'obtention, l'enregistrement et l'analyse es données, ainsi que dans la communication et la publication des résultats;
    4. s'assurer que toutes les personnes qui ont contribué matériellement au contenu de la publication en question et qui en partagent la responsabilité figurent parmi les auteurs des travaux publiés, et uniquement ces personnes;
    5. divulguer aux organismes parrainant le projet, aux établissements de recherche universitaire, aux revues spécialisées ou aux organismes de financement tout conflit d'intérêts d'ordre matériel, financier ou autre, pouvant influencer leur décision de demander à une personne de revoir des manuscrits ou des demandes de bourses ou de subventions, ou d'expérimenter des produits, ou de l'autoriser à entreprendre un travail parrainé par des sources extérieures.
  2. Les conseils considèrent que les établissements qui gèrent les fonds qu'ils leur accordent ont la responsabilité :
    1. de promouvoir l'intégrité dans la recherche et l'érudition;
    2. d'enquêter sur les cas éventuels d'inconduite dans la recherche et l'érudition, y compris :
      • d'imposer les sanctions appropriées conformément à leurs propres politiques;
      • de communiquer aux conseils concernés les conclusions qui ont été tirées et les mesures qui ont été prises.
  3. Les conseils ont la responsabilité vis-à-vis du gouvernement du Canada de voir à ce que les fonds qu'ils gèrent soient utilisés selon les principes les plus élevés d'intégrité et d'imputabilité.

Méthodes pour la promotion de l'intégrité, et la prévention et la résolution d'inconduites en recherche

1. Chercheurs

Les chercheurs ont comme première responsabilité de voir à ce que les normes de conduite les plus élevées soient observées dans la recherche. Les conseils s'attendent à ce que les chercheurs qu'ils subventionnent se conforment aux principes énumérés plus tôt.

2. Établissements de recherche

Les conseils considèrent que la responsabilité d'enquêter sur les allégations d'inconduite des chercheurs, des stagiaires ou du personnel recevant des fonds de leurs organismes incombe aux établissements de recherche. Le fait pour ces établissements de mieux faire connaître les questions d'intégrité en recherche serait une bonne façon d'éviter certaines inconduites.

  1. Promotion de l'intégrité dans la recherche

    La meilleure façon d'encourager l'intégrité dans la recherche consiste à sensibiliser tous les intéressés à la nécessité d'observer les normes les plus strictes quant à l'intégrité et à l'imputabilité. Les établissements de recherche doivent donc fournir un milieu propice à l'atteinte de cet objectif et le promouvoir par des programmes d'éducation appropriés à l'intention des chercheurs, des scientifiques, des stagiaires et du personnel.

    Les conseils incitent les établissements qui gèrent les fonds qu'ils leur accordent à mettre sur pied des mécanismes afin que ceux et celles qui s'occupent de la collecte, de l'enregistrement, de la citation, des comptes rendus et de la conservation de données savantes ou scientifiques sachent qu'ils doivent respecter les normes les plus strictes en matière d'intégrité.

    Ces mécanismes peuvent être de sensibiliser les personnes concernées à ces questions et d'instaurer des politiques s'appliquant à des domaines précis. Par exemple, l'organisation de séances d'information sur les principes et pratiques de l'intégrité scientifique à l'intention des chercheurs, scientifiques, stagiaires et du personnel de recherche à leur arrivée à l'établissement de recherche et, par la suite, à intervalles réguliers. Les conseils encouragent les établissements de recherche à élaborer des politiques pour certains domaines, comme l'identification de l'auteur d'une publication ou d'une demande, le droit d'auteur et les brevets, ainsi que pour la responsabilité de la conservation des données inhérentes aux disciplines qu'ils offrent.

  2. Examen des allégations d'inconduite en recherche

    Des allégations d'inconduite en recherche peuvent provenir de sources anonymes ou autres, de l'intérieur comme de l'extérieur de l'établissement de recherche. Celles-ci peuvent être fondées, honnêtes, erronées ou avoir été faites par malice. Quelle qu'en soit la source, le mobile ou l'exactitude, ces allégations peuvent causer beaucoup de tort à la personne accusée, à celle qui accuse, à l'établissement de recherche et à la communauté scientifique en général. Les conseils exigent donc que chaque établissement de recherche administrant des fonds de recherche accordés par les conseils démontre qu'il a mis en œuvre des politiques ou procédures impartiales et explicites, afin : 

    1. de recevoir les allégations d'inconduite en recherche;
    2. d'effectuer et de documenter les enquêtes appropriées dans les délais prescrits;
    3. de protéger le plus possible la vie privée de l'accusé et de l'auteur de l'allégation, dans la mesure où la procédure normale de l'enquête le permet;
    4. d'assurer à l'accusé un recours équitable et de lui donner l'occasion de répondre aux allégations pendant toute la durée de l'enquête, par les moyens qui respectent le recours auquel il a droit, ainsi que l'équité;
    5. de déterminer s'il y a eu inconduite ou non;
    6. de décider des mesures à prendre à la lumière des conclusions qui ont été tirées, y compris :
      • toute sanction imposée;
      • toute mesure prise afin de protéger ou rétablir la réputation ou la crédibilité des personnes accusées à tort d'inconduite au cours de la recherche, ou impliquées dans cette inconduite au cours de la recherche, y compris les mesures visant à s'assurer que tout exemplaire de documents et de dossiers connexes transmis à des tierces parties est détruit, lorsque les accusations ont été rejetées;
      • toute mesure prise pour protéger la ou les personnes réputées voir porté une accusation juste;
    7. d'informer la ou les personnes accusées des résultats de l'enquête et des mesures prises;
    8. de préparer un rapport sur ce qui précède.

3. Les conseils et le financement de la recherche

Les allégations d'inconduite portées à l'attention des conseils ou des établissements de recherche peuvent mettre en cause des personnes qui ont bénéficié ou qui bénéficient actuellement d'un appui financier d'un des conseils, des stagiaires ou du personnel rémunérés grâce aux fonds des conseils, ou travaillant dans des laboratoires dont les fonds proviennent des conseils. De telles allégations peuvent survenir à la suite de processus d'examen par les pairs effectués dans les conseils. Conformément à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, les conseils ne sont autorisés à transmettre une allégation d'inconduite que s'ils ont la permission de l'auteur. Les conseils ne transmettront pas d'allégations orales aux établissements ou n'y donneront pas suite, celles-ci ne pouvant être examinées ou transmises de façon exacte.

Si un conseil ou l'un de ses comités d'examen par les pairs découvre des preuves d'inconduite dans le cadre du processus d'examen par les pairs, le conseil en question demandera aux établissements concernés d'ouvrir une enquête et de l'informer du résultat.

Les conseils demandent aux établissements qui ont mené des enquêtes sur des allégations d'inconduite dans le cadre de recherches qu'ils financent de leur faire parvenir le rapport ou les résultats. Après examen du rapport, ils peuvent demander des éclaircissements ou, s'il y a lieu, des informations supplémentaires.

Ils peuvent en outre envisager d'imposer leurs propres sanctions, lorsqu'il a été établi qu'il y a eu inconduite relativement aux subventions accordées à la ou aux personnes impliquées, conformément à leurs directives. Ces sanctions peuvent inclure, sans y être limitées :

  • le refus d'examiner toute future demande de subvention pour une période déterminée;
  • le retrait des versements à venir de la subvention ou de la bourse;
  • une demande de remboursement, en tout ou en partie, des fonds déjà versés pour appuyer les travaux de recherche ou d'érudition.

Si des actions sont intentées, le conseil en question donnera aux personnes concernées l'occasion de faire valoir leur point de vue.

Il incombe donc aux conseils d'informer la ou les personnes ou établissements en cause de toute sanction imminente.

À titre d'organismes fédéraux, les conseils se réservent en tout temps le droit de porter un cas à l'attention des autorités judiciaires compétentes.

Les gens. La découverte. L'innovation.