` NSERC-National Science Foundation Collaboration on quantum science and artificial intelligence
Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

NSERC-National Science Foundation Collaboration on quantum science and artificial intelligence

Overview
Value and duration One to five years
Application deadline See below
How to apply Letter of intent submitted to NSERC (NSERC online system)

Full applications (by invitation only) are submitted to the NSF by the US principal investigator
For more information RP-Initiatives-PR@nserc-crsng.gc.ca
*Additional important information can be found in the This link will take you to another Web site Dear Colleague Letter on the NSF website.

Background

NSERC and the US National Science Foundation (NSF) have signed a memorandum of understanding (MOU) on research cooperation. The MOU provides an overarching framework to encourage collaboration between Canadian and US research communities and sets out the principles for developing jointly supported activities. This new NSERC-NSF collaborative research opportunity focuses specifically on discoveries and innovations in the areas of artificial intelligence and quantum science.

Through a lead agency model, US and Canadian research teams will submit a single collaborative proposal that will undergo a single review process at the NSF, which will be the lead agency. Canadian academic researchers may receive funding from NSERC, and US researchers may receive funding from the NSF. NSERC funding will be provided as an Alliance grant. For this collaborative call there is no requirement for partner organizations or contributions in the Canadian component, and they should not be included in the proposal.

The collaborative opportunity is fully described in the This link will take you to another Web site Dear Colleague Letter (DCL) available on the NSF website. The DCL provides the complete guidelines for the preparation, submission, review and award of NSERC-NSF collaborative research proposals.

Who can apply?

The full requirements are described in the DCL. Proposals must include eligible applicants from both Canada and the US as described below.

For Canada:

One Canadian university researcher, or a team of Canadian university researchers, who is eligible to receive NSERC funds can apply.

For the US:

Please refer to the DCL and to the This link will take you to another Web site NSF website.

How to apply

Collaborative research proposals will be accepted to the NSF programs listed in the DCL. Deadlines and application windows vary by program. Detailed information regarding the NSF programs, application requirements and submission process are described in the This link will take you to another Web site DCL and outlined below.

Step 1 - Letter of intent

The Canadian researcher or team of researchers must submit a letter of intent (LOI) to NSERC using the NSERC online system at least eight weeks prior to the planned submission of the full proposal to the NSF. The NSERC eligibility criteria for faculty and the This link will take you to another Web site national security guidelines apply. The LOI must not exceed three pages, excluding references, and must respect NSERC online presentation and attachment standards.

The LOI must outline the research proposed, research teams involved from both countries and annual estimates of funding to be requested from both the NSF and NSERC ($CAD).

The LOI must also include

  • a brief summary of the main objectives and research challenges of the proposed research and the expected outcomes and benefits
  • a plan to foster equity, diversity and inclusion (EDI) within the research and training environment

The LOI and the eligibility of the Canadian researchers will be reviewed internally by NSERC. The plan to foster EDI within the research and training environment is a screening criterion, and only those LOIs that provide a satisfactory EDI training plan will be invited to submit full proposals to the NSF. For guidance, consult the Equity, diversity and inclusion in the training plan document as well as Alliance grants Merit indicator 4.2.

No changes in the Canadian research team composition are permitted after a LOI is reviewed and approved by NSERC.

Instructions

To start your LOI

  • log in to the online system and choose Create a new form 101
  • select Research partnerships programs, then Alliance Grants
  • for the Proposal type field, select Letter of intent
  • for the Type of call field, select NSF Quantum Technologies/AI from the drop-down menu

Step 2 - Full proposal (by invitation only)

Based on the review of your LOI, you may be invited to proceed with a full proposal to the NSF. NSERC will provide an Invitation to submit letter to Canadian applicants, which must be appended to the full proposal as a supplementary document. Only proposals that have been invited to submit will be accepted. The NSERC eligibility criteria for faculty apply. The collaborative proposals must be submitted by US principal investigators to a participating NSF program using the appropriate NSF submission process. Full applications are not submitted to NSERC.

If you submit a proposal under this call, you agree that information contained in your proposal will be shared between NSERC and the NSF for purposes consistent with the program objectives. Participants are responsible for ensuring that they are aware of the NSF rules concerning the disclosure of information contained in the proposal. Participants should also ensure they are aware of the policies surrounding NSF programs and This link will take you to another Web site post award policies.

The information you provide in your application is collected under the authority of the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council Act. NSERC is subject to the This link will take you to another Web site Access to Information Act and the This link will take you to another Web site Privacy Act. The information you provide is stored in a series of NSERC data banks as described in This link will take you to another Web site Information about programs and information holdings. You must ensure that others listed in the application have agreed to be included.

Funding and duration of projects

Each selected Canada-US project will be jointly funded by NSERC and the NSF, to support the activities of eligible researchers in their respective countries. NSERC’s contribution will be awarded to the eligible Canadian applicants in the form of one Alliance grant per successful application, to be administered by the Canadian principal applicant’s institution. NSERC’s funding is intended to support the activities of the eligible Canadian researchers, and must be used in accordance with the Tri-agency guide on financial administration. Canadian applicants are only eligible to receive funding from NSERC.

Proposals are expected to adhere to the areas of science, funding limits and grant durations for the NSF-participating programs and NSERC’s Alliance grants.

Evaluation

The full proposals will be reviewed by NSF in competition with other proposals received for the same funding round of the program to which the proposal is submitted. Proposals will be reviewed using NSF's This link will take you to another Web site merit review process and must succeed on the strengths of their intellectual merit and broader impacts. NSERC will not conduct a parallel review and will not rank proposals. NSF and NSERC will determine recommendation outcomes. NSERC’s funding decision will take into consideration the merit review and, where applicable, the potential risks for Canada’s national security.

Terms and conditions

At all times, Canadian researchers are encouraged to exercise appropriate levels of due diligence when managing their research and establishing and/or continuing partnerships with national, international and multinational partners. Resources to do so are provided by the Government of Canada on the This link will take you to another Web site Safeguarding Your Research portal, including the This link will take you to another Web site National Security Guidelines for Research Partnerships. As funding for the Canadian component of the proposals will be provided as an Alliance grant, Canada’s National Security Guidelines for Research Partnerships apply.

In supporting research partnerships that endeavour to obtain the greatest possible benefits to Canada and for Canadians, NSERC reserves the right to

  • determine the eligibility of proposals and request additional information from Canadian applicants, as may be required for the review of their application
  • interpret the regulations and policies governing the national funding opportunities
  • apply conditions to individual grants, as appropriate
  • terminate, suspend, reduce the amount or duration, or change the terms and conditions of an award with due notice, in order to comply with Government of Canada laws, regulations, policies and directives, which are subject to change from time to time

Resources

Alliance grants terms and conditions of applying for applicants

Alliance grants terms and conditions of award

NSERC’s policy on intellectual property

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

CRSNG- National Science Foundation – Collaboration dans le domaine de la science quantique et de l’intelligence artificielle

Aperçu
Valeur et durée De un à cinq ans
Date limite Voir ci-après
Comment présenter une demande Lettre d’intention présentée au CRSNG (Système en ligne du CRSNG)

La chercheuse ou le chercheur principal américain présentera la demande (sur invitation seulement) à la National Science Foundation (NSF) des États-Unis.
Pour en savoir plus RP-Initiatives-PR@nserc-crsng.gc.ca
*On trouvera d’autres renseignements importants dans la lettre This link will take you to another Web site Dear Colleague (en anglais seulement) que l’on peut consulter sur le site de la National Science Foundation.

Contexte

Le CRSNG et la National Science Foundation (NSF) des États-Unis ont signé un protocole d’entente sur la coopération en recherche. Ce protocole d’entente offre un cadre général pour encourager la collaboration entre les milieux de la recherche canadien et américain et énonce les principes régissant l’élaboration d’activités financées par les deux organismes. La nouvelle possibilité de collaboration en recherche CRSNG-NSF porte expressément sur les découvertes et les innovations dans les domaines de l’intelligence artificielle et de la science quantique.

Les équipes de recherche américaines et canadiennes présenteront une seule proposition de collaboration, laquelle fera l’objet d’une seule évaluation par la NSF, qui est l’organisme responsable. Les chercheuses et chercheurs universitaires canadiens peuvent recevoir un financement du CRSNG et les chercheuses et chercheurs américains, de la NSF. Le financement accordé par le CRSNG prendra la forme d’une subvention Alliance. Pour cet appel à collaboration, le volet canadien n’exige ni la participation ni la contribution d’un organisme partenaire; en cas de participation ou de contribution, la proposition ne doit pas en faire état.

La possibilité de collaboration est décrite en détail dans la lettre This link will take you to another Web site Dear Colleague (en anglais seulement) que l’on peut consulter sur le site de la NSF. Cette lettre énonce les lignes directrices concernant la préparation, la présentation, l’évaluation et la sélection des propositions de recherche concertée CRSNG-NSF.

Qui peut présenter une demande?

La lettre énonce l’ensemble des exigences relatives à la présentation d’une demande. Les propositions doivent faire appel à des candidates et candidats admissibles du Canada et des États-Unis (voir ci-après).

Pour le Canada

Une chercheuse ou un chercheur universitaire canadien ou encore une équipe de chercheuses ou chercheurs universitaires canadiens qui est admissible à un financement du CRSNG peut présenter une demande.

Pour les États-Unis

Prière de consulter la lettre et le This link will take you to another Web site site Web de la NSF.

Comment présenter une demande

Les propositions de recherche concertée seront acceptées par les programmes de la NSF mentionnés dans la lettre. Les dates limites et les périodes de présentation des demandes varient selon le programme. On trouvera dans la This link will take you to another Web site lettre ainsi que ci-après de l’information détaillée sur les programmes de la NSF, les exigences relatives à la demande et les modalités de présentation des demandes.

Étape 1 ̶ Lettre d’intention

La chercheuse ou le chercheur universitaire canadien ou l’équipe de recherche canadienne doit présenter une lettre d’intention au CRSNG au moyen du Système en ligne de l’organisme au moins huit semaines avant la date prévue de la présentation de la demande à la NSF. Les critères d’admissibilité du CRSNG pour les membres du corps professoral et les lignes directrices en matière de sécurité nationale pour les partenariats de recherche s’appliquent. La lettre d’intention ne doit pas dépasser trois pages, sans compter les références, et doit respecter les normes du CRSNG relatives à la présentation de demandes en ligne et aux pièces jointes.

La lettre d’intention doit décrire la recherche proposée, les équipes de recherche participantes des deux pays et les estimations annuelles du financement à demander à la NSF et au CRSNG (en dollars canadiens). Elle doit également préciser à quel programme de la NSF la demande sera présentée.

En outre, elle doit comprendre : 

  • un court résumé des principaux objectifs de la recherche proposée, des défis de recherche ainsi que des retombées et des résultats attendus;
  • un plan visant à favoriser l’équité, la diversité et l’inclusion (EDI) dans l’environnement de recherche et de formation.

La lettre d’intention et l’admissibilité des membres de l’équipe de recherche canadienne seront examinées à l’interne par le CRSNG. Le plan visant à favoriser l’EDI dans l’environnement de recherche et de formation est un critère de présélection, et seules les équipes dont la lettre d’intention propose un plan de formation satisfaisant sur l’EDI seront invitées à présenter une demande à la NSF. Pour en savoir plus, consultez la page Intégrer les principes d’équité, de diversité et d’inclusion au plan de formation ainsi que l’ indicateur de mérite 4.2 des subventions Alliance.

Aucun changement ne pourra être apporté à la composition de l’équipe de recherche canadienne une fois que le CRSNG aura examiné et approuvé la lettre d’intention.

Instructions concernant la lettre d’intention

Pour commencer :

  • ouvrez une session dans le Système en ligne et cliquez sur Créer un nouveau formulaire 101- subventions;
  • sélectionnez Programmes de partenariats de recherche, puis Subventions Alliance;
  • dans le champ Type de proposition, sélectionnez Lettre d’intention;
  • dans le champ Type d’appel de propositions, sélectionnez NSF ̶ Technologies quantiques / intelligence artificielle à partir du menu déroulant.

Étape 2 ̶ Demande (sur invitation seulement)

À la suite de l’examen de votre lettre d’intention, vous pourriez être invité à présenter une demande à la NSF. Le CRSNG fera parvenir aux candidates et candidats canadiens retenus une lettre d’invitation à présenter une demande, qui devra être jointe à la demande à titre de document supplémentaire. Seules les demandes des candidates et candidats ayant reçu une invitation seront acceptées. Les critères d’admissibilité du CRSNG pour les membres du corps professoral s’appliquent. Les propositions de recherche concertée doivent être soumises par les chercheuses et chercheurs principaux américains dans le cadre d’un programme participant de la NSF selon les modalités pertinentes de présentation des demandes de l’organisme. Les demandes ne sont pas présentées au CRSNG.

Si vous présentez une demande en réponse au présent appel, vous consentez à ce que le CRSNG et la NSF s’échangent des renseignements figurant dans votre demande à des fins compatibles avec les objectifs du programme. Il incombe aux participantes et participants de prendre connaissance des règles de la NSF concernant la communication des renseignements fournis dans la proposition. Les participantes et participants doivent aussi prendre connaissance des politiques concernant les programmes et des This link will take you to another Web site politiques d’après-octroi (en anglais seulement) de la NSF.

Les renseignements que vous donnez dans votre demande sont recueillis en vertu de la Loi sur le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie. Le CRSNG est assujetti aux dispositions de la This link will take you to another Web site Loi sur l’accès à l’information et de la This link will take you to another Web site Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. L’information que vous fournissez est conservée dans différentes bases de données du CRSNG, tel qu’il est décrit à la page This link will take you to another Web site Renseignements sur les programmes et les fonds de renseignements . Vous devez vous assurer que les autres personnes nommées dans la demande ont accepté que leur nom y figure.

Financement et durée des projets

Chaque projet canado-américain sélectionné sera financé conjointement par le CRSNG et la NSF afin d’appuyer les activités des chercheuses et chercheurs admissibles dans leur pays respectif. La contribution du CRSNG prendra la forme d’une subvention Alliance par demande retenue accordée aux candidates et candidats canadiens admissibles. Cette subvention sera administrée par l’établissement d’attache de la candidate ou du candidat principal canadien. Le financement du CRSNG vise à soutenir les activités des chercheuses et chercheurs canadiens admissibles et doit être utilisé conformément au Guide d’administration financière des trois organismes . Les candidates et candidats canadiens ne sont admissibles qu’au financement du CRSNG.

Les propositions doivent satisfaire aux exigences concernant les domaines des sciences, les limites de financement et la durée des subventions applicables aux programmes participants de la NSF et aux subventions Alliance du CRSNG.

Évaluation

Chaque demande sera évaluée par la NSF par rapport aux autres demandes reçues dans le cadre du même cycle de financement du programme pour lequel la demande a été présentée. La NSF évaluera le This link will take you to another Web site mérite des demandes, qui devront satisfaire aux critères concernant le mérite intellectuel et les retombées générales. Le CRSNG ne procèdera pas à une évaluation parallèle et ne classera pas les propositions. La NSF et le CRSNG détermineront les recommandations à formuler. Le CRSNG prendra une décision de financement en tenant compte de l’évaluation du mérite et, le cas échéant, des risques pour la sécurité nationale du Canada.

Modalités

Les chercheuses et chercheurs canadiens sont invités à exercer en tout temps une diligence raisonnable appropriée lorsqu’ils gèrent leur recherche et établissent ou maintiennent des partenariats nationaux, internationaux et multinationaux. Le portail This link will take you to another Web site Protégez votre recherche du gouvernement du Canada propose des ressources destinées à ces fins, notamment les This link will take you to another Web site lignes directrices en matière de sécurité nationale pour les partenariats de recherche. Comme le financement du volet canadien de la proposition sera accordé sous la forme d’une subvention Alliance, les lignes directrices en matière de sécurité nationale pour les partenariats de recherche s’appliquent.

Le CRSNG appuie les partenariats de recherche qui visent à générer le plus d’avantages possible pour le Canada et la population canadienne. Dans cette optique, il se réserve le droit :

  • de déterminer l’admissibilité des propositions et de demander aux candidates et candidats canadiens des renseignements supplémentaires nécessaires pour évaluer leur demande;
  • d’interpréter les politiques et les règlements applicables aux possibilités de financement offertes par le Canada;
  • d’imposer, au besoin, des conditions en lien avec les subventions individuelles;
  • de mettre fin à une subvention, d’en suspendre le versement, d’en réduire le montant ou la durée, ou encore de modifier les modalités d’une subvention, après avoir donné un préavis suffisant, afin de se conformer aux lois, règlements, politiques et directives du gouvernement du Canada, lesquels peuvent être modifiés de temps à autre.

Ressources

Subventions Alliance : Modalités de présentation des demandes ̶ candidats

Subventions Alliance : Modalités de la subvention

Politique du CRSNG sur la propriété intellectuelle