Equity, Diversity and Inclusion


Dimensions

Charter

Preamble

This charter is foundational to the Dimensions pilot program to foster increased research excellence, innovation and creativity within the post-secondary sector across all disciplines, through greater equity, diversity and inclusion (EDI).Footnote 1

By committing to this charter’s principles and by implementing actions to achieve its objective, CEGEPs, colleges, polytechnics and universities (hereafter identified as “institutions”Footnote 2) recognize that equity, diversity and inclusion strengthen the research community, the quality, relevance and impact of research, and the opportunities for the full pool of potential participants.

Dimensions helps build on and celebrate progress made to-date and provides public recognition for increased commitments and tangible results regarding equity, diversity and inclusion.

Fundamental to achieving results is the need to identify and address systemic barriers,Footnote 3 particularly those experienced by members of underrepresented or disadvantaged groups including, but not limited to, women, Indigenous Peoples (First Nations, Inuit and Métis), persons with disabilities, members of visible minority/racialized groups and members of LGBTQ2+Footnote 4 communities. All individuals have multiple identities and the intersection of those identities should be considered wherever possible. Institutions should recognize circumstances wherein other groups may also face barriers.

Dimensions recognizes that diversity has many facets, including age, education, parental status/responsibility, immigration status, religion, language, place of origin, ethnicity, culture, socio-economic status and many other attributes.Footnote 5 Diversity is one of Canada’s strengths, which positively contributes to research excellence.

An in-depth and intersectional understanding of inequity, discrimination and exclusion is needed to achieve cultural change. Therefore, institutions are called upon to undertake meaningful, inclusive engagement with underrepresented and disadvantaged members of their research communities.Footnote 6 Such engagement is an integral part of an institution’s self-assessment and is crucial to the successful implementation of concrete actions to increase equity, diversity and inclusion. Institutional and cultural change will be challenging and gradual.

In recognition of the Calls for Action from the Truth and Reconciliation Commission, a guiding principle of the charter is to engage in meaningful, respectful and continuous dialogue and collaboration with First Nations, Inuit and Métis Peoples.

Institutions are invited to endorse the charter and to commit to its principles by applying them to the evolving realities of their respective environments to transform post-secondary research experiences, contributions and outputs by achieving greater equity, diversity and inclusion.

Principles

Participation in the Dimensions pilot program is voluntary. By choosing to endorse this charter, institutions commit to adopting these principles throughout their practices and culture to achieve greater equity, diversity and inclusion (EDI). Institutional commitment is understood to reflect ongoing and productive engagement with their community.

  1. The post-secondary research community has the greatest potential to thrive when members experience equitable, inclusive and unbiased systems and practices.
  2. To advance institutional equity, diversity and inclusion, specific, measurable and sustainable actions are needed to counter systemic barriers, explicit and unconscious biases, and inequities. This includes addressing obstacles faced by, but not limited to, women, Indigenous Peoples, persons with disabilities, members of visible minorities or racialized groups, and members of LGBTQ2+ communities.
  3. Institutions require qualitative and quantitative data to measure, monitor, understand and publicly report on challenges and progress made. The analysis of the data should inform a comprehensive, in-depth, intersectional understanding of the contexts, manifestations and experiences that result from inequities, underrepresentation and exclusion among all post-secondary community members.
  4. When equity, diversity and inclusion considerations and practices are integral to research participation, to the research itself, and to research training and learning environments, research excellence, innovation and creativity are heightened across all disciplines, fields of study and stages of career development.
  5. To contribute to reconciliation, research with, by or impacting Indigenous Peoples must align with the research policies and best practices identified through ongoing engagement with First Nations, Métis and Inuit Peoples and their organizations.
  6. Advancing equity, diversity and inclusion is a shared responsibility that requires dedicated resources and strong leadership at all levels. Senior leadership demonstrates commitment through public endorsement, by ensuring the work involved is resourced and distributed fairly, and by embedding changes in institutional governance and accountability structures.
  7. Issues of institutional and individual safety, trust, belonging, privacy and power differentials must be recognized and pro-actively addressed; this will be most successful when those impacted are directly engaged in defining the actions.
  8. Achieving the overall objective of the Dimensions program—to foster increased research excellence, innovation and creativity within the post-secondary sector across all disciplines through increased equity, diversity and inclusion—involves institutional collaboration, transparency, and the sharing of challenges, successes and promising practices.

Download a PDF version of the charter

How to cite the charter

Government of Canada 2019, Dimensions: equity, diversity and inclusion Canada, accessed {insert date}, http://www.nserc-crsng.gc.ca/NSERC-CRSNG/EDI-EDI/Dimensions-Charter_Dimensions-Charte_eng.asp


Tri-agency logos

Contact

Equity, diversity and inclusion
nseequity-equitesng@nserc-crsng.gc.ca

Dimensions
DimensionsEDI@nserc-crsng.gc.ca

Contact Newsletter

Get highlights of things happening at NSERC delivered to your email inbox. View all Newsletters

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • Youtube
  • Instagram

Équité, diversité et inclusion


Dimensions

Charte

Préambule

La présente charte est la pierre angulaire du programme pilote Dimensions, qui vise à promouvoir l’excellence en recherche, l’innovation et la créativité dans le milieu postsecondaire, dans et entre toutes les disciplines, en favorisant l’équité, la diversité et l’inclusion (EDI)Footnote 1.

En s’engageant à respecter les principes de la charte et en prenant des mesures pour atteindre les objectifs visés par celle-ci, les cégeps, les collèges, les écoles polytechniques et les universités (ci-après « les établissements »Footnote 2) reconnaissent que l’équité, la diversité et l’inclusion enrichissent le milieu de la recherche, améliorent la qualité, la pertinence ainsi que les retombées de la recherche et donnent la chance à tous et à toutes de saisir les occasions qui se présentent.

Le programme Dimensions s’inscrit dans la continuité des progrès réalisés à ce jour et reconnait publiquement les engagements accrus des établissements en matière d’équité, de diversité et d’inclusion et les résultats tangibles obtenus à cet égard.

Pour obtenir les résultats voulus, il est essentiel de repérer et d’aplanir les obstacles systémiquesFootnote 3, notamment ceux qui touchent les groupes sous‑représentés ou désavantagés, comme les femmes, les peuples autochtones (Premières Nations, Inuits et Métis), les personnes en situation de handicap, les membres de minorités visibles ou de groupes racisés et ceux de la communauté LGBTQ2+Footnote 4. Chaque personne a de multiples identités et il faut, dans la mesure du possible, prendre en compte l’intersection de ces identités. Les établissements doivent reconnaitre les situations où d’autres groupes pourraient se heurter à des obstacles.

Le programme Dimensions reconnait que la diversité a de multiples facettes, dont l’âge, la scolarité, le statut familial ou la charge parentale, le statut d’immigration, la religion, la langue, le pays de naissance, l’origine ethnique, la culture et la situation socioéconomiqueFootnote 5. La diversité est l’un des atouts du Canada et elle contribue à l’excellence en recherche.

Pour opérer un changement de culture, il faut avoir une compréhension approfondie et intersectionnelle des iniquités, de la discrimination et de l’exclusion. C’est pourquoi les établissements doivent engager un dialogue véritablement inclusif avec les groupes sous‑représentés ou désavantagés de leur milieuFootnote 6. Ce dialogue est partie intégrante de l’autoévaluation de tout établissement et est essentiel à la mise en place de mesures concrètes pour favoriser l’équité, la diversité et l’inclusion. Par ailleurs, le changement de culture à l’échelle de l’établissement ne s’opèrera pas sans difficulté et se fera progressivement.

Un des principes directeurs de la charte, qui donne suite aux appels à l’action lancés par la Commission de vérité et réconciliation, consiste à établir une collaboration et un dialogue constructifs, respectueux et soutenus avec les Premières Nations, les Inuits et les Métis.

Les établissements sont invités à souscrire à la charte et à s’engager à respecter ses principes et à les appliquer à la réalité changeante de leur environnement respectif afin de transformer les expériences, les contributions et les réalisations en recherche du milieu postsecondaire grâce à l’atteinte d’une plus grande équité, diversité et inclusion.

Principes

La participation au programme pilote Dimensions est volontaire. En choisissant de souscrire à la charte, les établissements s’engagent à intégrer les principes ci-après dans l’ensemble de leurs pratiques et dans leur culture organisationnelle pour tendre vers l’équité et accroitre la diversité et l’inclusion. Par leur adhésion à la charte, les établissements s’engagent à consulter régulièrement et de façon constructive les membres de leur communauté.

  1. Le milieu de la recherche postsecondaire prospère lorsque les systèmes et les pratiques des établissements sont équitables, inclusifs et exempts de préjugés.
  2. Pour favoriser l’équité, la diversité et l’inclusion au sein des établissements, il faut des actions concrètes, mesurables et durables qui permettront de contrer les obstacles systémiques, les préjugés explicites ou inconscients et les iniquités. On doit, entre autres, s’attaquer aux obstacles auxquels se heurtent notamment les femmes, les peuples autochtones, les personnes en situation de handicap, les membres de minorités visibles ou de groupes racisés et les membres de la communauté LGBTQ2+. 
  3. Les établissements ont besoin de données qualitatives et quantitatives pour mesurer les difficultés qui se posent et les progrès réalisés, en assurer le suivi, les comprendre et en rendre compte publiquement. L’analyse des données devrait permettre une compréhension approfondie et intersectionnelle des contextes, de la manifestation des iniquités, de la sous-représentation et de l’exclusion ainsi que des expériences de tous les membres du milieu postsecondaire.
  4. Lorsque les pratiques et les questions relatives à l’équité, à la diversité et à l’inclusion sont indissociables de la participation à la recherche, de la recherche même et des milieux de formation et d’apprentissage, l’excellence en recherche, l’innovation et la créativité se trouvent renforcées dans l’ensemble des disciplines et des domaines d’étude ainsi qu’aux différentes étapes du parcours professionnel.
  5. Pour favoriser la réconciliation, la recherche menée par les communautés autochtones, en collaboration avec elles ou ayant une incidence sur elles doit respecter les politiques et les pratiques exemplaires en recherche relevées dans le cadre de consultations continues auprès des Premières Nations, des Inuits et des Métis et de leurs organisations.
  6. La promotion des principes d’équité, de diversité et d’inclusion est une responsabilité partagée qui requiert des ressources et un leadership fort à tous les échelons. La haute direction démontre son engagement en déclarant publiquement son adhésion à la charte et en s’assurant que les ressources nécessaires sont disponibles pour effectuer le travail requis, que les tâches sont réparties de manière équitable et que les changements sont intégrés à la structure de gouvernance et de reddition de comptes de l’établissement.
  7. Il faut prendre en considération les questions de sécurité individuelle et institutionnelle, de confiance, d’appartenance, de protection de la vie privée et de déséquilibre des pouvoirs, et prendre sans tarder les mesures qui s’imposent. Pour que ces mesures soient efficaces, il faut que les personnes touchées participent directement à leur définition. 
  8. La collaboration entre les établissements, la transparence et la communication des difficultés et des réussites ainsi que des pratiques prometteuses sont essentielles à l’atteinte de l’objectif global du programme Dimensions, qui est de promouvoir l’excellence en recherche, l’innovation et la créativité dans le milieu postsecondaire, dans et entre toutes les disciplines, en favorisant l’équité, la diversité et l’inclusion.

Téléchargez la charte en version PDF.

Pour citer la charte

Gouvernement du Canada 2019, Dimensions : équité, diversité et inclusion Canada, page consultée le {insérez la date}, http://www.nserc-crsng.gc.ca/NSERC-CRSNG/EDI-EDI/Dimensions-Charter_Dimensions-Charte_fra.asp.


Logos tri-agences

Coordonnées

Équité, diversité et inclusion
nseequity-equitesng@nserc-crsng.gc.ca

Dimensions
DimensionsEDI@nserc-crsng.gc.ca

Bulletin Contact

Recevez par courriel des mises à jour sur les activités du CRSNG. Consultez tous les numéros.

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • Youtube
  • Instagram